Bees and butterflies

Bee on pale yellow pot marigold

It’s not surprising that I generally see lots of bees as John, a nearby plot neighbour, keeps some honey bee hives.  Most of the annual flowers that I grow – pot marigolds, cornflowers, cosmos, California poppies, sunflowers, poached egg plants, love-in-a-mist and nasturtiums – are all attractive to bees and butterflies.  

 

 

Two bees on a teasel flower head

 

I usually grow a few teasels for the bees, butterflies and goldfinches.  I often see bees, rarely butterflies and only once goldfinches.   On Tuesday the flower heads were buzzing with bees, often with several on one at the same time.

 

 

 

White butterfly on the lavender

 

Over the past week I’ve been lucky enough to see various butterflies on the plot. There have been plenty of the common white ones like this Large White on the lavender, which has also attracted some Skippers.

 

 

 

Speckled Wood butterfly on the grape vine

 

This Speckled Wood is resting on the grape vine, and is one that I don’t see very often.

 

 

 

 

Best of all was this Gatekeeper,  one of several that I saw on Tuesday morning, on a sunflower Musicbox flower.  Initially it had it’s wings closed but I waited for them to open.

Gatekeeper butterfly on sunflower Musicbox - 3

And don’t forget that the big butterfly count is on until Sunday, 7th August.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bees and butterflies

  1. Such lovely butterflies you did well to catch them

  2. CJ says:

    Brilliant butterfly photos, I find them so hard to capture. Speckled wood is one of my favourites, lovely to see it. We’ve had lots of gatekeepers in the garden here. How nice to have beehives on the allotment site, it’s something I wish we had on ours. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, I do too usually. It was good to see that one. It seems like there were lots around during the week. It certainly is, although not everyone welcomes them. xx

  3. Andy says:

    It’s been a very good year for bumble bees in my garden. Loads and loads of them, mainly around the comfrey. Also a good year for Skippers. I very rarely see honey bees though.

    • Flighty says:

      Andy that good to see. They enjoy my comfrey as well. I don’t usually see many Skippers. That’s a shame, I guess that without the hives on the site I wouldn’t either. Cheers.

  4. Awesome update blessing in sharing have good day Mike

  5. Jo says:

    It’s nice to see a variety of butterflies around, I’ve hardly seen any this year but I’m hoping that will change once the sedum is flowering, it’s like a magnet to them.

  6. Liz says:

    Sunshine and flowers and butterflies and bees. Perfect!

  7. Jo says:

    Lovely post Mike, I have teasels in my front garden and they too are covered with bees. x

  8. Chloris says:

    Lucky you seeing so many butterflies and well done getting such great shots. There seems to be quite a dearth of butterflies here this year.

  9. snowbird says:

    What a cracking selection! Marvelous captures, I did enjoy them.xxx

  10. VP says:

    Thanks for the reminder re the Butterfly Count – have a great weekend! 🙂

  11. Hello Flighty, I haven’t seen many butterflies in our garden, but I’m sure if I looked harder I might! We do have an abundance of bees, I saved one that was stuck in our sash window yesterday..
    Have a wonderful weekend x

Leave a Reply

