Flighty’s plot, mid-July 2016

Recently I’ve spent most mornings plotting and it’s now all looking much better than it was a couple of weeks ago, and I’m feeling a lot less moochy.

The tomatoes Gardener’s Delight,  Golden Sunrise and Outdoor Girl all looked dire at one point but seem to have recovered with flowers on most of them, and even a few fruit on a couple of plants.  The red onions Red Baron which didn’t bolt are mostly soft and unusable but the white ones Sturon are looking okay.   I’ve been lifting some of the potatoes first earlies Red Duke of York and second earlies Charlotte, and the first earlies Lady Christl that I planted a couple of weeks ago are starting to show foliage.   I’ve been picking the broad beans Karmazyn, and the runner beans St George are finally heading up the canes as are the slower climbing French Beans Borlotti and Cobra. To fill some gaps on the plot I’ve sowed some beetroot Boltardy, carrots Autumn King and dwarf French beans Sprite.

The rhubarb, raspberries and strawberries have all finished but it won’t be long before I’m picking blackberries.

The red cosmos Veloutte have started flowering,

Cosmos ''Velouette'

White gladioli - 1as has the first of the lovely white gladioli White Goddess.

I’ve pulled up the dwarf white lavender plants that have never done well and now died in the recent soggy ground.

Last week I ordered some crocus Snow Bunting and daffodils yellow mini Tete-a-tete and the white Thalia.

It’s looks like reaching 30C/85F on Tuesday so I’ll be just pottering if does as that’s too hot for me.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Flighty’s plot, mid-July 2016

  1. Blessing in sharing have a blessed day

  2. I love Thalia, I planted 400 under my limes and the smell is devine in the spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny good for you, they’re such a lovely daffodil. I wish that I had room for that many on my plot, I’m having to make do with 50. xx

  3. Sorry, sent too soon! I meant to add happy gardening. I’m new to blogging and I’m finding some amazing people. Thank you.

  4. Jo says:

    I’m glad you’ve managed to get some days in down the plot. I’ve always struggled growing red onions, not sure why as the yellow ones never seem that difficult. I even had a go at growing red spring onions one year and they came to nothing too. Thinking of next spring already, we haven’t had any summer yet but it’s hopefully on its way this week.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, and so am I. I may not grow red ones next year, and like you have never had any problems with white ones. I’ve being doing that as well recently. It looks like it. xx

  5. Liz says:

    I’m impressed at your early harvest, especially after the miserable weather.
    Have both tete-a-tete and Thalia — they are lovely and you’ll enjoy them.
    The red cosmos is a pretty shade.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks so am I, and wonder what it would have been like if the weather had been good. I’ve grown both in containers but these will be out on the plot, and as you say both lovely flowers to enjoy. It sure is. xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    The recovery of many of your plantings is enlivening isn’t it. You must have an invaluable store of knowledge now about what works and in what conditions.
    That Cosmos is so in your face, it is fabulous….why grow anything else! In contrast, the Gladioli is quite soothing.

    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      menhir it most certainly is. Perhaps not quite as much as you make out. That cosmos sure has made an impact. The gladioli provides a good contrast. xx

  7. CJ says:

    Gorgeous deep red cosmos, and I always like to see your white gladioli. It’s not been a great year so far down at the allotment, but I’m not deterred, there are always a few things that do okay and provide some lovely fresh food. You’re right about Tuesday being too hot to plot, although I should probably get down there and splash a bit of water about. Wishing you a good week. Stay cool. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they’re two lovely flowers. It’s a shame but it’s been like that for many people, and good for you. I will go to the plot early and be home before it gets too hot. Thanks. You too. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, that cosmos is really vibrant! Sorry to hear about the white lavender, but I hear they are not nearly as hardy. I found some seeds that need planting, including some calendula ‘Zeolights” that remind of your buff colored pot marigolds.

    • Flighty says:

      NIkki it sure is. Thanks, they didn’t get off to the best of starts and have struggled ever since so no great loss. They look to be a good variety, and I’ve got similar coloured ones on the plot. xx

  9. Liz says:

    I love the colour of the Cosmos! How vegetables fair seems to be somewhat haphazard this year, half my onions look good, the other half have hardly grown, courgettes of all kinds are struggling while the pumpkins are doing okay. There seems to be no rhyme nor reason (except climate change of course) why some of our plants are flourishing while other aren’t. I like that you’ve told us what varieties are growing in your plot, I really must make more effort to include those details.
    Keep covered up in the 30 degree sunshine and don’t forget to take lots of drinks with you to aid your plotting.
    Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Liz me too. It certainly seems to have been a difficult growing year one way and another. Thankfully not everything has suffered. I think that including the varieties grown is helpful, so generally try to remember to include them.
      In weather like this I go early and I’m home by mid-morning. I keep covered up at any time and always drink plenty of water when I’m there. xx

  10. Andy says:

    We are still half way through our Raspberries, a particularly big crop this year, Strawberries almost finished, very poor this year and very much looking forward to Blackberries. Your Cosmos looks fine, mine are just beginning flowering.

    • Flighty says:

      Andy shame about your strawberries. Like you I’m looking forward to the blackberries. Thanks, the cosmos did seem to start flowering early . Cheers.

  11. Elaine says:

    My raspberries haven’t been very good this year but the Loganberries have made up for them they are literally dripping from the bushes. We haven’t had it as wet as you so everything is doing pretty ok, I have had my first picking of French beans and have just sown some more seed for a later crop. Sorry to hear your onions haven’t done to well, I only put a few shallots in but they seem to have disappeared. Some years are good years, some are bad, not a lot you can do about it, but take it on the chin 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine that’s a shame but at least you have plenty of loganberries. Now it’s too dry and the ground is like concrete. Thanks, I’m hopeful that the white ones will be okay. It’s as you say, and we do indeed. Happy gardening. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    That is a beautiful cosmos! I am glad that your recovering veg has cheered you up. I think it’s been a strange year, my tomatoes are similar to yours and most of my brassicas have been devoured. Here,s hoping the improvements continue. xxx

Leave a Reply

