I wasn’t at all surprised…

to read that June was the wettest on record. Not only that but it was also the second dullest as well.  Following on from the rainiest April it made the period from April to June the wettest recorded in the UK.  There have been days when it’s felt autumnal.

Blackberry flowers and beeI only went to the plot a couple of times last week.  On Tuesday I chopped the comfrey down and added it to the compost heap. That meant that I could see and pick plenty of hidden raspberries.

The blackberry bush, by the compost bin, is full of flowers and was buzzing with bees.

 

Four 'Flighty's favourites 'pot marigolds

 

It’s been my worst year yet, certainly as far as growing vegetables is concerned.

What has cheered me up has been the pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites, which I’ve mostly managed to keep on the flower patch this year.

There is the usual mix of varieties and colours.

 

 

Plot pot marigolds

The forecast for the coming week is dry but mainly cloudy and cool so I hope to get some plotting done most days.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I wasn’t at all surprised…

  1. princessines says:

    yeah no surprises there…I haven’t watered the plot once this month…..looking very pretty at yours….

  2. I love those marigolds and I’m just off to pick mine on my allotment. Incidentally if you are growing spuds we’ve had a reminder to check that they are blight-free given the warm and wet of this summer.

  3. Liz says:

    Your calendula look wonderful, like a meadow of brightness and cheer. They’ve at least done well in all the rain.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Your Marigolds are looking bonny, Mine are only at green leaf stage, no sign of flower buds yet. It’s amazing how raspberries find way and means of quite happily producing. XXX

  5. CJ says:

    Wow, what a fabulous array of marigolds. Not much plotting done here either, although it’s been dry enough that I’ve had to water my pots at home today. I hope you have a good week and that it’s nice enough for some gardening. CJ xx

  6. Caro says:

    Flowers seem to have done well this year while veg has been hit and miss. That’s a lovely display of marigolds – they’re particularly nice with the cornflower in the background. I prefer overcast to bright sunshine for gardening as I find it a bit too hot in the middle of the day so the weather this coming week will suit us all better! Have a good week, Flighty! Caro x

  7. snowbird says:

    I’m glad you have those marigolds to cheer you up, they simply glow. It has been a shocking year for growing veg, I’m not faring too well either.xx

  8. Jo says:

    Your marigolds are looking good, lets hope the weather improves for July x

  9. Mark Willis says:

    My Flighty’s Favourites are good again this year, thanks! They certainly brighten the gloom…

  10. Doris says:

    Lovely, cheerful blooms! Thanks for brightening up my day! 🙂

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, that charming patch of sunshine is wonderful — especially with a touch of blue here and there. The pot marigolds you sent (mostly the yellow ones) have reseeded nicely. I wish the buff-colored ones would come back, but they have not.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, the touch of blue here and there are cornflowers. That’s nice to know.
      I’ll bear that in mind about the buff-coloured ones when I’m collecting seed later in the year. xx

  12. susurrus says:

    Marigolds are guaranteed to cheer us up – especially such a healthy-looking patch as this one. It looks like they’ve been enjoying the rain while we’ve been inside, waiting for the clouds to pass.

    • Flighty says:

      Susan hello and welcome. They do indeed and thanks. There was far too much rain until recently but they’ve still done well, as always. xx

Leave a Reply

