I’ve mostly mooched

I voted to remain in the EU in Thursday’s referendum but wasn’t surprised that the result was to leave.   I feel that our present parliamentary, political and voting systems are all no longer fit for purpose but I can’t see any of them changing in the near future.  Sadly I also have little respect for, or trust in, many politicians.

There was more rain on Thursday so when I looked round the allotments on Friday morning it was to see that the ground on my plot was like chocolate blancmange which didn’t help the sinking feeling I had.  I picked some more raspberries and took a few photos then came home, since when I’ve mostly mooched.

The Versatile Blogger awardI should have mentioned before now that nearly a month ago I was kindly nominated by Sharon on her Allotment Life blog for the Versatile Blogger award.  I will do a post about this sometime, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’ve mostly mooched

  1. thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Same here – about the voting Remain, and subsequent feelings of despondency with the result and lack of faith in our current political system and politicians. I’m trying to immerse myself in gardening tasks to block out the negative vibes! I suppose we will do our usual thing and Muddle Through eventually…

    • Flighty says:

      Mark I think many people will feel the same. That sounds good to me. I hope that you’re right but feel that this time it will take some time.

  3. artsnplants says:

    I know it’s all very lowering to the spirits isn’t it? I have harvested some very underwhelming strawberries. They are suffering from ennui as well it seems!

  4. Liz says:

    I remain British in my very being despite several decades living in the U.S. For me, the results of the referendum were shocking. It remains topic #1 in the news over here. Oh, what a mess.
    Yes, back to the garden seems the best answer. At least it keeps us occupied and provides solace and calm in this mad, mad world.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz as you say what a mess, and it’s one I feel that will get worse then take a long time to recover from.
      I agree, and I feel better today having spent the morning plotting. It does indeed. xx

  5. We bloggers seem to be of like mind. I too voted to remain and have felt genuinely aggrieved in the following days. There are some remarkable people in the blogging community and someone I enjoy reading is Freedom4Humanity. It is a mind-opening world view he presents, and very much worth a look for an alternative perspective about what’s really going on. Doesn’t have all the answers, but interesting nonetheless. He posted a response to Brexit, to which I made a comment – the dialogue is there to read. We will all watch this space together…
    Interestingly, the first thing I did after picking myself up off the floor and watching hours of TV footage was to head for the allotment, dig some new potatoes for tea and pick gooseberries. I posted a photo online with a cheeky comment that we’d better all learn crop rotation from now on! 😉😔

    • Flighty says:

      Jill hello and thanks for your comment.
      I’ve bookmarked that blog and will take a look at it.
      I like what you say about heading for the allotment, and agree what you say about crop rotation. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Feeling very dismal here as well. Devastated in fact. It will be catastrophic for the environment. No doubt more species will be wiped out without EU protection and with the government choosing to concentrate on economic growth instead of wildlife. A very bleak future. CJ xx

  7. snowbird says:

    I also have little respect for, or trust in, many politicians. The shake up in the major parties is needed, I think we could do with more choices…not UKIP though…maybe the Green Party will up it’s game….a bumpy road ahead, but we are a stable country compared to many. It will take a while, but hopefully it will all settle down. I voted out.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I think that many people feel the same, and even more so now. I hope that it’s not going to be too bumpy and remain stable. I’m sure you’re right. xx

  8. menhir1 says:

    I guess a lot of remain voters will proudly say what they voted, Mr F, me included, and like you will have very mixed feelings about the result, with emotional highs and lows. Mud, lots of it, has more substance at the moment than the political institutions. When it dries out, you’ll see what nutrition there is.
    Signing the e-petition was emotionally beneficial. https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/131215
    Big hugs. XXX

  9. Jo says:

    Enjoy your mooching Mike, a very sad state of affairs indeed x

  10. nikkipolani says:

    With a garden like blancmange, I’d be mooching, too. Mine is constantly tugging at me — that little weed, the blooming one (among zillions)… that brown stalk… that grey woody cane… those empty containers…

  11. plot34 says:

    I hope the blancmange has set 😉

  12. Zoe says:

    Ah Flighty I’m completely with you as a fellow remain voter. I also headed straight to the allotment on Friday morning to immerse my misery in the solace of the plot. It really did help me to feel a bit better. Maybe it has something to do with keeping busy and just carrying on regardless.

    • Flighty says:

      Zoe thanks, I have to say mine was a reluctant vote. I’d have felt better if I could have done some plotting on Thursday and Friday. Feeling like I do I’m finding it hard to do anything constructive at the moment. xx

      • Zoe says:

        Sorry to hear that, the rain doesn’t help to lift one’s spirits, but at least the plot is getting watered. Hope you get back to your old self soon. 😉

  13. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Congratulations on the nomination, Flighty. I too find gardening offers a good escape from politics.

Leave a Reply

