Water everywhere

Monday it rained for much of the day but Tuesday was okay so I spent a while deadheading the rose Pretty Lady.

Pretty Lady roses

I then picked some raspberries and strawberries.

Raspberries   Strawberries

Newton Park WestYesterday was dull and drizzly until well into the afternoon, then overnight there was a lot of heavy rain.  Earlier this morning I went and voted in today’s referendum.  Once I’d done so I crossed the road and headed across the Newton Park West open space, which as you can see was rather watery.

It was the same on the allotment site which was as bad as I’ve ever seen it with standing water everywhere including plots which have never suffered before.  Compared to some mine wasn’t too badly affected, but certainly the worst yet, and this was the grass path at the bottom of the plot.

Waterlogged plot - 3   The bottom path

There’s more heavy showers and rain forecast for late this afternoon and evening which will only make matters worse.   At this rate I’ll be lucky to harvest even a few edible vegetables this year.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Water everywhere

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Last night we had very severe and prolonged thunderstorms, and absolutely torrential rain. Thank goodness for raised beds, I say! I hope your plot has soil that is “free-draining”!

    • Flighty says:

      Mark after more rain yesterday the plot is like chocolate blancmange. The clay bed little more than a foot or two down means that it takes a while to drain of.

  2. menhir1 says:

    Oh dear, I was thinking about you and on our way to the polling station this morning, I was chatting about your plotting and what the weather might be doing.

    Some years ago, I flew into London, (or tried to) when flash floods had created total chaos. We were flown to sit at Gatwick where it was a dry warm day. We sat on the plane, not allowed to disembark. About seven hours later the world’s airlines were allowed to fly into Heathrow; my domestic flight was in the same plane park as the international flights. I got into the terminal nine hours late. No-one could go anywhere by public transport because of extensive flooding. I do hope the weather does not get that chaotic this time.

    You harvested some lovely soft fruits, well done you! I was surprised to read you were already dead-heading roses. But then, your growing season is well ahead of ours.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that’s nice to know. I remember days like that, which sadly seem to be getting more extreme and frequent.
      I’m surprised to be picking raspberries already. I think that the rain and wind means that the roses don’t last so long sadly hence my already dead-heading. xx

  3. Liz says:

    “It rained and it rained and it rained. . .” Wasn’t that from Winnie the Pooh who ended up on a tree branch with his pots of honey.
    Your “Pretty Lady” is doing well despite the rain and the raspberries and strawberries look delicious!
    We’re watching the UK referendum vote with interest too, here in the U.S.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I think you’re right.
      It is but the flowers don’t last so long, and they both tasted as good as they look.
      I didn’t follow it much as I found it all too exasperating. xx

  4. Andy says:

    Hi,

    I took on a small flooding field…I dug spade width and depth drainage channels around the garden. Works quite well. It may be that you just take the water away from your beds to a better spot for it to drain. Digging flooded grass and soil can be done in a hour or so and you get a lot of water drain off rapidly to save a crop.

    http://ourlittlefield.blogspot.co.uk/2016/04/runner-beans-and-small-flood.html
    and
    http://ourlittlefield.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/first-year-review.html

  5. Jo says:

    We regularly had standing water on our first allotment plot, we eventually put a drain in to help and it did work. Your strawberries and raspberries look delicious, I’m really missing my strawberries from the plot this year.

  6. Allotmental says:

    My plot and a few near me on the WH site have about a foot if water in places. The furrows in between the potatoes 6 inches deep in water. Photos soon!!

  7. Sorry to hear you’ve had more rain, Flighty. I really hope the sun shines on your edibles soon!

  8. Lovely update sorry to here all about the rain we had thunderstorms yesterday evening very heavy have a blessed day

  9. Chloris says:

    Endless rain, I’ m sick of it. My roses look terrible. Your Pretty Lady certainly is pretty. Great that you have strawberries and raspberries, that should cheer you up, with a nice jug of cream.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Roomie’s headed for a few weeks in Belgium and was advised to bring rain-proof shoes. Of course, she doesn’t own any because she lives in DroughtLand! But I can see from your boots that you are well prepared for the occasional summer deluge. And thanks for another peek at that gorgeous rose.

  11. Yummy fruit shots. The weather is awful and the rain has been so heavy. I have watched it batter the roses, bend over the Thalictrum and generally make a flippin mess. Where is summer?

  12. Jo says:

    Rain is forecast again for here later. I’m almost glad that we are growing so little veg this year x

  13. elaine says:

    We haven’t had nearly as much rain as you – it’s so disheartening for the crops after all your hard work.

  14. snowbird says:

    It is a strange year, no doubt about that, my veggies are not doing well, at all! Pretty lady deserves her name, and not a sign of black spot that is afflicting my roses.
    That is a lot of water, the climate is changing, here’s hoping your plot dries out.
    Raspberries AND strawberries….well that can’t be bad! Enjoy them, I don’t have any ripe ones yet, just lots of sour cherries.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird and a difficult one, nor a lot of peoples sadly. She does indeed.
      Too much, it certainly looks like it, and thanks.
      Lots of raspberries, less strawberries which have succumbed to the rain and slugs. I am, and I hope yours ripen soon. xx

Leave a Reply

