The state of play

I’ve done virtually no plotting for over a week, and what I have done has been half-hearted at best. The ground remains too wet,  there are far too many slugs/snails and birds have proved troublesome.

Broad bean pods forming

Despite some blackfly it does look like I’ll be getting some broad beans.

This is the first year that I’ve had onions bolt (go to seed) and they’re generally not looking too good.

I think that both lots of beetroot and carrot seeds that I sowed simply got washed away in heavy rain.

 

 

Potato 'Charlotte' flowers

 

The first early potatoes Red Duke of York and second earlies Charlotte are doing okay, with the latter already flowering.  However half of the second earlies Kestrel and most of the main crop Desiree simply rotted in the wet ground.   I’ve been given some first earlies Lady Christl and Red Duke of York which I’m hoping to plant out this coming week. Providing there’s no blight or frost in September I should get a small harvest from them.

 

TomatoesAny sweet corn seedlings that appeared have been hoicked out of the ground by magpies and mice got at some some of the climbing French and runner bean seeds, although enough have survived so far for one plant per cane.   The tomatoes look okay and some have flowers on them.

 

Oca foliage

Foliage has appeared for all the oca tubers that I planted.

I’m still picking rhubarb and have eaten a few ripe strawberries.

This morning I found this ripe raspberry, with lots more on the way.

First raspberry

 

 

 

So that’s the state of play on the plot as far as the vegetables and soft fruit are concerned.

 

 

 

Young robin

I called into the horticultural society trading shed on the way home and was prevailed on to gently persuade this young robin back outside, which I did after taking this photo.

 

Have  a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The state of play

  1. Sometimes allotment gardening is like that then the following year it is so much better and one is hooked again. It’s not too late to sow squash, French beans, Swiss chard, spinach, salad and beetroot. .I have had poor germination lately sowing direct in the wet ground so I’m sowing at home all of the above. Good luck.

    • Flighty says:

      Sue I agree, having good and bad years since I’ve had the plot. I may well plant or sow a few more things this week or next. That’s a shame, and I hope they do okay when you do plant them out. Thanks. xx

  2. VP says:

    Here’s hoping the raspberry’s appearance is the sign of better plotting times to come 🙂

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Sorry to hear about the poor state of play with your spuds! Waterlogging is not a problem in my garden, with its raised beds – usually the opposite! I’ve been lucky so far with my Broad Beans too – hardly any blackfly this year. Last year they were terrible.

  4. CJ says:

    Lovely little robin. Gardening is a tricky thing isn’t it. I’m having all sorts of problems as well. A fantastic potential crop of strawberries, but now they’re rotting and going mushy. Weeds that are going mad. Beans that didn’t germinate. Parsnips and carrots ditto. Lettuces that got eaten by slugs. Mustards that ran straight to seed. It’s a wonder we all keep going! I’m wishing you a better week next week. Chins all firmly up. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure was. Yes indeed. My sympathies. It’s the same with my strawberries. We do keep going though don’t we. Thanks, and you too. Definitely. xx

  5. Jo says:

    Oh dear, the trials and tribulations of a gardener. Still, it doesn’t all sound bad and that’s the great thing, there’s always something which comes good in the end. With any luck, most things will pick up and you’ll still get some good harvests.

  6. menhir1 says:

    What a varied picture. Here in the far north we have quite dry conditions, though we have not been without rain. It has not, however, clotted and clogged the ground, in fact, the soil has been almost dusty, except where you might want to get rid of mosses.
    It must be quite disheartening for you to see your creativity restricted by weather, slugs and other forms of nature.
    You have some really nice soft fruits to nibble. xxx

  7. Elaine says:

    Oh dear you don’t half paint a sorry story – some years are like that aren’t they – hopefully if we eventually get some steady sunny days things might pick up for you.

  8. snowbird says:

    I’m glad you managed to coax the young robin out! Sorry to hear about some of the failures, it’s similar here! Good to know that some of the potatoes are doing well and wow….you have strawberries! That’s certainly something.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird the adults often flit in and out of the shed but not the young ones. Yes thankfully. I’m not sure how many strawberries will survive the pests and weather. xx

  9. Liz says:

    It sounds like a “keep calm and carry on” situation in the garden. I am sorry about the awful weather that is washing out the good plants and bringing a scourge in its wake. Your little robin looks happy indoors and that raspberry looks ready to pluck off the screen! So, not all bad. I do like your new “header”. Is that what it’s called? Are they the backs of nigella? That’s the sort of thing that makes you look at situations from different angles! Fingers x’d for sun.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it does doesn’t it. Thanks, I’m sure it’ll pass and things improve. It had been it there a while. No, not really. Yes, it’s called a header picture. No, they are the fronts of nigella. It’s raining again today. xx

  10. Jo says:

    Oh Mike I’m so sorry your plot is struggling in this terrible weather. The blackbirds have cheerfully been picking off my cherries, the plum tree dropped the majority of its fruit during the June drop and I accidentally pulled up some baby squash plants whilst weeding yesterday. My plus point is that my runner beans are shooting up beautifully in this wet weather. I hope this week proves to be more productive for you xx

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. It seems like we’re all having gardening woes of one kind or another. Thank goodness for plus points. Let’s hope that it is for all of us. xx

  11. Lovely update thank you for sharing sorry to here the weather is playing up on your lovely plot have a blessed day

  12. karen says:

    Sorry to hear you are having a difficult time Mike. Just been out to look at my plot and just about everything has been bashed to the ground, never had potatoes flop over sideways before. Hope they will still grow on and be ok. The rain has washed all my sweet peas to the ground. I’m just having a cup of tea and then going back out to tie them all up. Such a challenging summer.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, Flighty! It seems there’s a conspiracy from the birds to the bugs, from slugs to the weather! The heat wave have arrived (107F yesterday) so that means summer hiatus for me, aside from watering.

Leave a Reply

