This week is…

Layout 1British Flowers Weekwhich is a celebration of British flowers and the UK flower industry.

It’s thanks to my mum, who was a passionate gardener and loved flowers that I also am and do, even though I can only devote part of the plot to growing them.

Mostly white love-in-a-mistI’m always happy to share my pictures here and elsewhere on-line for others to enjoy.

I posted this one of mostly white love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) on the Facebook Friendly Gardeners group earlier in the week since when nearly 150 people have liked it.

Over on Twitter I have lots of friends who are florists and growers of British flowers. Sara is one who did this interview for Gardens Illustrated.

 

Here are couple of my Flighty’s favourites pot marigolds (calendula officinalis).

Pot marigold - 7  Pot marigold - 8

The first of at least a dozen of the palm-sized zingy red oriental poppies greeted me yesterday morning when I arrived at the plot.

The first two oriental poppies 2016

Dogwood rose

If you find these rather flamboyant and prefer something more understated and elegant then how about a simple white dog rose.

Whatever flowers you like there are always plenty of British grown ones to choose from.

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This week is…

  1. CJ says:

    How lovely to hear a little about your mum and her love of flowers and gardening. Nigella is one of my favourites, so pretty. I’ve squeezed in a few flowers down at the allotment as well, more each year in fact! And I’m a big fan of British flowers, definitely no need to be flying them in from halfway round the world. CJ xx

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  3. Jo says:

    I’m not surprised your photo of love in a mist has had so many likes, it actually looks like a painting, so pretty. My mum’s never been a gardener but my dad gardened on a small scale growing a few veggies in the garden and at one time, filling the garden with dahlias. I’ve got the same poppies flowering in my garden at the moment, they’re another thing, like roses, which have really grown on me in the last few years.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. Much as I like to look at dahlias they’re not a flower I want to grow, even if I had the room. They’re both good flowers to have in a garden. xx

  4. Jo says:

    How lovely that your mother passed her love of flowers on to you. I inherited my love of gardening from my grandfather and then my dad. xx

  5. karen says:

    Such a lot of colour. We need some cheerful photos today. Such a drenching day-again.

  6. Liz says:

    Rain again in the UK? We need some here; it’s in the 90sF. I have the same poppies in bloom too! Love British flowers and miss a lot of them. My gardening interest was passed on to me by my grandfather and my mother, who grew flowers, produce, and fruit trees. It’s a good heritage!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz there’s been far too much rain and the ground is still soggy. That’s way too hot for me. Good for you. It’s nice to have such interests passed on. It sure is. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Certainly the perfect time for British flowers! Some of your pot marigolds have started to bloom here, too, Flighty.

  8. Chloris says:

    I think we often inherit our love of gardens and flowers from our parents. It is a wonderful gift to hand down the generations. Great to celebrate British flowers and how good it is that there are more and more growers here.

  9. snowbird says:

    I do love that little dog rose, the poppies are gorgeous too! Lovely to hear you got your gardening passion from your mum.xxx

  10. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Thanks for a lovely post, Flighty. I’ve let the front lawn grow long this summer and it’s currently awash with oxeye daisies, which I’m really enjoying.

Leave a Reply

