Armchair gardening weather

My post title  last Sunday was rather misleading as it certainly wasn’t sunny,  and hasn’t been since. Not only that it’s been breezy, cool and damp at times, especially Tuesday.

I did some plotting Monday and this morning but I have to say that it was half-hearted at best.   What it has been is armchair gardening weather.

Armchair gardening

This is another fine picture by Stephen Darbishire, one of my favourite painters.

I looked at the Met Office weather forecast earlier and Sunday onwards is looking calmer, drier and warmer.  I hope so as I’ve plenty of hoeing, sowing and weeding to do.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Armchair gardening weather

  1. Jo says:

    Lovely picture!

    I had plans to paint lots of wood for fences and raised beds this weekend (fingers crossed for sunnier weather)!

  2. Jo says:

    I love that picture. The met office forecast for here is for more rain still after the weekend, I do wish summer would hurry up and arrive.

  3. CJ says:

    It’s been a bit mixed here as well. Only the weeds and the slugs and snails are really thriving I think! Lovely painting, I hope you’ve enjoyed a bit of armchair time. CJ xx

  4. plot34 says:

    I want to be in that armchair, snuggled close to a roaring fire. As it is, I’m on my way home with blocks of ice for hands and feet. Are we sure it’s June??

  5. I thought your picture was a photo. Tuesday was a stinker of a day here Wednesday only marginally better. Flaming June where are you?

  6. annie_h says:

    Yes its been really cool and grey here most of the week, with a biting wind. Think its been an east-west divide across the country this week, with sunnier whether furthest west. Hope you’ve had a relaxing few days

    • Flighty says:

      Annie it’s been the same here. Yes you’re right as it was nice in many western areas. I have thanks, but I’d rather have been doing some plotting. xx

  7. Liz says:

    What a charming picture! Ideal to be curled up in the armchair with a good book and a cuppa! Hope your June weather improves and you get some plotting time.

  8. Jo says:

    I’m sorry the weather hasn’t been up to much for you. I feel a little guilty to say it has been divine here all week. Very unusual for Wales though. I hope it brightens for you soon xx

  9. Love the painting too have not manage to do much must do an update on greenhouse and kitchen window sill have a blessed weekend Mike

  10. snowbird says:

    That is a lovely painting. What a shame about your weather, we’ve had the opposite, wall to wall sunshine for a week. It’s been too hot to do much physical work. I hope you get some decent weather soon.xxx

  11. Chloris says:

    It has been a dismal week, the west country stole all our sunshine. I have been gardening all wrapped up in my winter woolies. No time to stop, the garden is open to the public on Sunday.
    I love the painting, it looks so cosy.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like a good week to enjoy cozy art. Maybe a cup of tea or three. Definitely a biscuit or two!

Leave a Reply

