It’s a sunny Sunday…

unlike nine years ago which was grey and wet.  That’s the day I started Flighty’s plot in anticipation on taking on an allotment, which I did a few weeks later when I signed the papers for Plot 124A.

I notice that of the friends that commented on my Sunday morning post which I did on 29 June 2007 one was Nikki who has probably commented on most, if not all, of the 1067 posts that I’ve done and Uphilldowndale who had only started her blog two weeks earlier.

Since then I’m happy to say that there have been plenty of ups and only a few downs, and the pleasure I get from plotting and blogging about it has been immeasurable.  The icing on the cake has always been all your comments. There have been over 11, 000 so far, nearly all of which I’ve replied to.

Something else that I’ve always enjoyed doing  is reading, and often commenting, other blogs especially gardening/plotting ones.  One relatively new one is Annabelle’s, who took on her plot last October.  Have a read of her Life at No.27 – the allotment’s view post which I found absolutely delightful.

I was plotting as usual most days last week.  I’m pleased to see the broad beans Karmazyn doing well, and the first row which are now knee high now have flowers on them.  I’m carefully checking them every visit to see if they’re free of blackfly.

Broad beans 'Karmazyn'   Broad beans 'Karmazyn' flowers

I’ve mentioned, and shown, various flowers over the past couple of weeks.  Here are some white California poppies (eschscholzia californica) ,  which I think are the creamy-white variety Alba, rather than the similar but pure white Ivory Castle.

White California poppies

Pot marigolds backI spent Thursday and Friday mornings hand weeding through the large patch where the self-seeded pot marigolds (calendula officinalis) Flighty’s favourites are and I still haven’t finished.  It won’t be long before they start flowering and I’ll be looking to see how many distinct colour variations there are this year.

Rather than show one of my pictures from previous years I thought that you’d be interested to see these pictures which The Cottage Herbery showed on Twitter recently.

Pot marigolds front

Enjoy the rest of the weekend, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to It’s a sunny Sunday…

  1. Congratulations on 9 years of blogging and plotting! Lovely to see Eschscholzia – they are nowhere near flowering yet here. Do you harvest the broad bean tops for soup?

  2. artsnplants says:

    9 years is very impressive. You have already as you know been of great help to me in my brand new gardening endeavours so thank you and here’s to many more! My Karmazyn look very similar and so far……no sign of blackfly. Fingers crossed.

  3. Chloris says:

    9 years blogging! Well done. I love the creamy Eschcholzia.

  4. Congratulations and well done for keeping it going! Thank you very much for the mention too, I really appreciate and glad you liked my allotment having a guest blog haha 🙂

  5. Happy anniversary! Hope there are many many more of them xxx

  6. CJ says:

    Wow, 9 years, that’s fantastic, well done you. And well done on the allotmenteering as well. Love those pale California poppies. I’m off to have a look at Annabelle’s blog now, I’m always happy to find a new allotment blog to read. Have a lovely Sunday in the sun Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, on both counts. I’m sure you’ll enjoy her blog, me too. Not much sun here yesterday but I had a nice relaxing day all the same. xx

  7. Girlontor says:

    Wow! Those are impressive statistics… I’ve only been doing mine for just over a year, but it’s interesting that there’s a couples of commentators who stick with you from the beginning… I wonder if that’s the same for most bloggers? Would be interesting to know!

    • Flighty says:

      Judy hello and welcome. Thanks. It seems that a few keep going for years whilst many give up after a year or two. I think I read somewhere that the average blog life is only about six months. xx

      • Girlontor says:

        And I copied this a while ago (sorry to the author, as I can’t remember from where)

        “Lets us consider a blog is abandoned if a blogger doesn’t post anything for last 3 months. As per Technorati(search engine for blogs), only 7.4 million out of the 133 million blogs had been updated in the past 120 days.
        So 95% of blogs are abandoned.”

        That’s a lot of orphaned blogs!

  8. Alison says:

    Happy 9th year of blogging Flighty. I cannot even remember when or how I started following your blog. You have inspired me to do gardening here in NZ and it’s been a great learning experience + so much joy. Thank you. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Alison thanks. We’ve been following each others blogs for a long time that’s for sure. That’s nice to know. You’re most welcome. xx

  9. Jo says:

    Congratulations on your 9th blog anniversary. I’ve been following along for quite a few years now and I always enjoy popping in to see what you’re up to. Those Californian poppies are so pretty, more of a buttery colour than the brighter ones we’re used to.

  10. Liz says:

    Many happy returns! Nine years blogging on a regular basis is an achievement. The California poppies are pretty and as I’m drying herbs and flowers, the calendula from the Cottage Herbery remind me to go outside and see what needs to be cut! Happy sunny Sunday!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz many thanks. And it’s always been fun to do. They sure are. It wasn’t very sunny but I had a good day, and hope you did too. xx

  11. Congrats on 9 years blogging and plotting, Flighty. Have a great weekend x

  12. elaine says:

    I bet you never thought you would still be blogging nine years on! It seems appropriate that I should thank you for all the comments you have left on my blogposts – when I started blogging it was your encouragement that kept me going when I could so easily have given up.

  13. Nichola says:

    Aw congratulations on 9 years!! Super fab achievement. Plenty more enjoyable years to be had as well too! Keep up the fabulous work 👍🏻 x

  14. menhir1 says:

    Congratulations on that long, that many posts and so many comments, also, not forgetting the many replies to them.
    How much watering do you find you need to do at the moment?
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir many thanks.
      As yet I’ve not had to water the plot as there had been sufficient rain. I water all round only if there’s been no rain for a week. xx

  15. snowbird says:

    Oh. nine years! Fantastic, congratulations! Here’s to the next nine! Your Beans look great and those californian poppies are a lovely, delicate shade….gorgeous.xxx

  16. Congratulations that’s a lot of posts and even more messages. Here’s to another 9

  17. Jo says:

    Congratulations it’s always a pleasure to visit your blog. My own ‘Flighty’s Favourites’ are out in the front garden x

  18. Congratulations Flighty on 9 years of blogging and plotting, have a blessed day.

  19. plot34 says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary Flighty. Your statistics remind me that I need to try much harder with my own blog 😉

  20. nikkipolani says:

    Nine years! How can it be?! It’s great to see your statistics and a bit about all the relationships built over the blogs. And terrific to see your tidy row of flowering broadbeans. Enjoy your summer flowers — I certainly am!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is. Thanks, some of the statistics really do amaze me and the relationships have been a real bonus. Fingers crossed I get some pods and beans this year. I will, and it’s nice to know you are too. xx

Leave a Reply

