A mixed week

A couple of days this week I’ve stood and watched a magpie drink from, then bathe in, the washing up bowl pond by the log pile.  I did wonder why I was having to top this one up almost every visit recently when I don’t usually have to.

The washing up bowl pond

As you can see the rosebay willowherb is growing between the pond and log pile, and the two teasels have grown noticeably in the last few weeks.

Plot hawthorn

 

I recently noticed that the hawthorn blossom had died almost as soon as it appeared as had leaves around the bottom on the tree as you can see in the picture.

I found out that it’s got fireblight,  and almost certain that I’ll have to cut it down and burn.

I’ll do that later in the year, and start to think what to do with that area next year.

 

I’ve got a new four legged friend, Riley, who’s a twelve week old mostly black rather exuberant puppy.  He was keen to lick and chew my fingers when I met him on Tuesday. He lives in one of the flats that I pass on the way to the plot so I should see him quite often.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A mixed week

  1. Jenny says:

    Shame about the hawthorn but nice to have a new friend. 🙂

  2. Blessing and a lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  3. Jo says:

    We get lots of magpies here, they can be pests but I still like to see them. Such a shame about the hawthorn, it has lovely blossom which I’m sure you’ll miss if you do have to cut it down. Riley sounds like a character, I can never resist a puppy, I’ll cross the street just to have a little stroke.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s the same on the allotment site. It never did have much blossom unlike some I see, but I’ll still miss it. He sure is, nor me and good for you. xx

  4. Liz says:

    Your pond setting looks nice. Sorry about the hawthorn. Hope you’ll get a photo of Riley to post!

  5. menhir1 says:

    I love the description of Riley.
    The Hawthorne was a bit of a surprise. C’est la vie. You should get a reasonable space to expand your horticultural ideas when you have dealt with the tree.
    I find it interesting that Magpies drink enough to make a noticeable ‘dent’ in the water levels of your pond. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. Yes, it’s happened very quickly. Yes it will be so I’ll have to start thinking what to do there. I think that it’s them bathing rather than drinking that uses the most water. xx

  6. Chloris says:

    What a shame about the hawthorn but maybe you will be able to plant another tree when it is gone. Puppies are such fun, but exhausting. I have my daughter’s puppy a couple of days a week and he wears me out. He eats absolutley anything and everything.

  7. Jo says:

    Riley sounds fun! Such a shame about the hawthorn, its one of my favourite plants x

  8. CJ says:

    Lovely to know that your pond is being used. Do you ever have frogs there? It’s a real pity the hawthorn seems doomed, it’s one of my favourites as well and great for wildlife. But it might give you a chance to put something new in there which is always fun. Wishing you a good weekend. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes I always pleased to see wildlife using the ponds. I have done but a plot neighbour has a bigger more suitable one where I think they reside. I agree with what you say about the hawthorn. As to what I’ll put it’s place… Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet that little pond looks with the new growth giving it a hideaway look! Perhaps the wildlife feel a little safer with plant cover. I’m sorry about the hawthorn.

    Very smart of you to “get” a dog that someone else cares for and you get to pet often 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m well pleased with that area after redoing it earlier in the year. I’m sure you’re right. Thanks.
      That’s “another” one, as I already have several! xx

  10. karen says:

    That’s a shame about the hawthorn. We had a beautiful red flowering one when we moved here, but it succumbed to fireblight. Have a great weekend. Hope it’s sunny for you x

  11. snowbird says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing a picture of Riley! Oh, what a shame about your lovely hawthorn, maybe you could plant a fruit tree in it’s place. Your pond is certainly a haven for wildlife, and it looks lovely with all the rosebay willowherb softening the log pile. Teasels do put on a huge spurt of growth at this time of the year.xxx

  12. Cant beat having a four-legged friend

  13. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Sorry about the Hawthorn, Flighty. I guess you just have to see it as an opportunity to do something new in its place.

Leave a Reply

