Flower seeds and rhubarb

Following a chilly start it’s been a nice sunny day. On the plot I started sowing annual flower seeds.  I scattered love-in-a-mist and pot marigolds seeds on the flower patch after I’d weeded and partly hoed it.

The California poppy patchThe California poppies have their own patch where there are some plants that have survived from last year,  and one has a flower about to unfurl. I’ve sowed more including a packet of  eschscholzia  californica Ivory Castle.

White California poppy

Over the coming week I’ll be sowing cosmos, nasturtiums and sunflowers.

The rhubarbThe rhubarb is growing really well so I picked the first few stems.

First rhubarb stems May '16

I mentioned recently that I saw a jackdaw on the site and this morning I saw one on the plot.  It was a day for corvids as there were plenty of crows and magpies about as well.

It looks like being cloudy tomorrow with some rain from mid-afternoon, a typical May Bank holiday.  By next weekend temperatures are expected to reach 20C/68F during the day and 10C/50F overnight.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Flower seeds and rhubarb

  1. Jo says:

    Lucky you having some sunshine, it’s rained all day here, typical bank holiday weather. Enjoy your rhubarb, I don’t have any in the garden so it’s something I’m definitely missing this year now that I don’t have the plot.

  2. menhir1 says:

    Hi Mr F,
    sounds like you are heading for a balmy climate. It is lovely to hear that you are already harvesting a crop of rhubarb. xxx

  3. Liz says:

    Your rhubarb definitely has a head start on mine! I am sort of following your flower sowing schedule: your cosmos Xanthos went in the neighborhood butterfly garden on a dry day last week and I have sowed some zinnia seeds.
    May Bank holiday. Is that what we used to call Whit Monday?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m sure that yours won’t be too long. Good for you. I’m not too sure, even though I googled Whit Monday I’m still a bit confused. xx

  4. elaine says:

    It has been sunny here but with a strong chilly wind – your rhubarb is ahead of mine – I do look forward to pulling the first sticks myself. I have quite a few flowers seeds coming along in the greenhouse including a tray full of Flighty’s Favourites.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it’s the wind that’s kept temperatures feeling colder than they are. I suppose that it all depends on the variety. Good for you. xx

  5. CJ says:

    Lovely to see that first rhubarb harvest. I’ll probably pull a little of mine soon although I’m trying to leave it to build up a bit. Great to hear that warmer weather is on its way, I shall look forward to it very much. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  6. Awesome update thank you for sharing my rhubarb leaves died back but new shoots are coming back i noticed

  7. Chloris says:

    I picked some rhubarb today too. I love it when it gets warm enough to sow seeds outside. How wonderful to have some warm weather at last.

  8. snowbird says:

    Oh my, that rhubarb has me a little envious. Enjoy!xxx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Boy, that rhubarb looks healthy and happy! I’m sure you’re enjoying the fruits of your labor. And, soon, the flowers, too!

Leave a Reply

