A Sunday stroll

Small tortoiseshell butterflyIt rained all day Friday so I wasn’t surprised to see that some of the plots are waterlogged again when I took a Sunday stroll round the allotment site.

 

There are always crows and magpies around but I don’t recollect having seen a jackdaw before as I did this morning.  I also spotted this small tortoiseshell butterfly.

 

Looking round the plot I was pleased to see that the broad bean seeds that I sowed nearly four weeks ago, and mentioned last week,  have finally appeared.

TulipsThankfully the forecast for the coming week is looking mostly dry,  although cloudy, so I will be doing plenty of hoeing and weeding.

I will also sow another row of broad bean seeds, along with some beetroot and carrots.

 

Have a good week!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Sunday stroll

  1. Liz says:

    Those lovely tulips still! What a delight that the broad beans have germinated. I love spring with the birds and bees and butterflies.
    Send the April showers here, please. We’re 2 1/2 inches short of rain; temps are in the high 70sF and that means watering!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m hoping that they’ll last a little while longer. it sure is. Me too.
      II woul;d if I could but it looks like being mostly dry this week. Goodness that doesn’t sound so good. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Great news about the broad beans, sometimes they just need a little extra warmth to set them in to growth. I haven’t seen any butterflies yet this year but I’ve seen some bumble bees out and about, some quite big ones too.

  3. I love strolling around the allotment. It’s nice to take in the sounds and sights of the place and see what other plot holders are up to. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  4. Mark Willis says:

    I’m glad to hear that your Broad Beans came up eventually. I’m anxiously scanning the soil for the appearance of some Parsnips I sowed a month ago. Patience is an important virtue for the gardener!

  5. CJ says:

    Lovely to see your butterfly. Good to know your broad beans are up, I need to go and see whether mine are. I’m going to put some carrots in a raised bed in the garden as well. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  6. Chloris says:

    It is so good to see the butterflies again. On Thursday I saw my first brimstones. I don’ t know how the poor things have been managing with the cold and wet of the last few days. I have got my broad beans appearing too. So exciting.

  7. homeslip says:

    I do like the measured way you do things Flighty. A pair of jackdaws have been attempting to build a nest in our chimney. Lots more sticks had fallen through this morning but thankfully no more since. I’m hoping they were a young inexperienced pair and have now found somewhere more suitable to nest. Have a good week – I shall be hoeing and sowing too.

    • Flighty says:

      Sarah hello, and thanks. Your jackdaw story made me smile, and as you say let’s hope they’ve found somewhere better. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. karengimson says:

    Beautiful, Mike. Thanks for sharing

  9. Jo says:

    I’m glad your beans have come through. I might sow a couple of rows this weekend now the veg plot has been weeded. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    That was nice, joining you vicariously on a little stroll. And hurray for those broad beans 😉

  11. snowbird says:

    Good to know your beans are up, the cold weather doesn’t help germination for sure. Oh…I love jackdaws, one of my favourite birds, such intelligent cheeky chappies. Lovely butterfly too.xxx

  12. menhir1 says:

    Lovely butterfly pic. Magpies are commonly seen where I am. There are superstitions around them, rather like the one with spilt salt; the one where you take action to fend off bad luck.

    I’m pleased to hear your broad beans are making a showing, It’s a nice reversal. you were rather glum about them last week.

    I haven’t been getting any notification of any of your replies Mr F. I wonder if there’s a link on your side that should be revived. if so, let me know. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. There’s nearly always magpies around, and this morning two were strutting across my plot when I arrived.
      I was certainly relieved to see them appear.
      There appears to have been a few WordPress glitches recently, although I’m not sure there’s anything I can do about this particular problem but I will have a look. xx

  13. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    How lovely to see a butterfly. Hopefully the nice weather will bring out some more, and make for plenty more Sunday strolls.

Leave a Reply

