I like tulips…

Plot tulips 2016but limited space and having to grow them in containers means that I only grow a small number each year.  My preference is for single colour, traditional shaped ones.

 

This year I’ve got a handful of each tulip Darwin hybrid Red Impression and the smaller white variety tulip fosteriana Purissima growing in the square container.

 

I find the flower centres of tulips fascinating to look at.

Tulip Darwin hybrid 'Red Impression'   Tulip fosteriana 'Purissima'

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I like tulips…

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  2. Jo says:

    I think having limited space means you choose the varieties more carefully, if you can only grow a few you want them to be ones you particularly like. You’ve made a great choice with these two.

  3. Liz says:

    Oh, these tulips are delightful. I’m sure they give others pleasure as well as you.

  4. Are there…. no there can’t be…. people who don’t like tulips?!? That would be wrong! Love yours.

  5. I love to see tulips, these look great.

    All the best Jan

  6. Carrie Gault says:

    They are absolute classics! I have been lucky enough to be bought bunches of yellow ones twice this year! The ones at the Lottie are tiny, I think I’ve moved the bulbs about too much by accident *blush*

  7. menhir1 says:

    They are rather beautiful Tulip centres – one brash and the other quiet and elegant….two opposites.

    xx

  8. Jo says:

    I like tulips too. I’ve not grown them in pots but will have some pots available this year due to a garden revamp so will give them ago. The new bulbs I planted last year are just starting to flower. A mixture of white & deep purple. Have a good weekend xx

    • Flighty says:

      Jo good for you. I think that they do well and look good in containers and pots. I like the sound of your colour combination. Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. Chloris says:

    Darwin tulips are a good choice for tulips that come back year after year. You are right they are even more beautiful if you look inside them. Have a good weekend too.

  10. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I’ve got tulips growing in containers too – with the idea that I’ll cut quite a few and bring them in the house. They’re mainly purple and white varieties but I love your red ones. They’re real tulips!

  11. CJ says:

    Gorgeous tulips. Shamefully I have a bag of them that I didn’t get round to planting. They’re in a bag in the garage sadly trying to grow. You’ve made me think I should go and rescue them! Wishing you a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  12. snowbird says:

    Just beautiful.xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    These are lovely, Flighty. I remember being sorely tempted by the tulip catalogs that should never have been sent to my region. I planted a batch that were immediately snapped up by gophers. 😦

Leave a Reply

