April plotting

Onion leaves appearingLast Monday and Tuesday I planted out the rest of the onion sets. I have a few spares that I’ll use to fill any gaps where ones haven’t shown signs of growth in the next couple of weeks.  It’s good to see that some of the ones I planted nearly two weeks ago are sprouting.

I also planted out the second early potatoes Charlotte, which as I’ve mentioned before are my favourite variety.

First early potato 'Red Duke of York'On Friday after a couple of non-plotting days, due mainly to unsettled weather, I spent a couple of hours pottering.  There’s no sign of the broad beans which I sowed nearly three weeks ago so it’s looks like either mice have had them or they didn’t germinate in the cold, damp ground.  I will sow some more this coming week and hope that they do better.  Some first early potato Red Duke of York foliage has appeared which is pleasing to see.

Among the traditional yellow daffodils were these two doubly delightful ones.  Sadly being tall and top heavy both had toppled over.

Doubly delightful daffodil  A white double daffodil

This morning I went across to the horticultural trading shed to buy a couple of bags of horse manure which I spread and dug into the area where I’ll be growing the climbing French and runner beans.

There’s some heavy rain due tomorrow evening, otherwise it looks like being a reasonable  week so I hope to plant the second early potatoes Kestrel and sow some beetroot seeds.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to April plotting

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Hearing about your Broad Beans probably failing to germinate confirms my preference for sowing them in pots and transplanting later. I hope your second batch does better – hopefully the weather will be improving from now on.

  2. Jo says:

    It’s good to see the season getting off to a good start. Those daffodils are a welcome surprise, I don’t have any doubles in my garden, I do prefer the singles, but it’s nice to have one or two mixed in as a change. Hope your next lot of broad beans do better for you.

  3. Liz says:

    I didn’t know there were all these potato varieties! The Red Duke of York foliage is attractive. Hope you have success with your next sowing of broad beans. I can taste them! Pretty daffodils.
    We’re told to wait until Tuesday morning for chances of hard freeze to abate. This has been going on since last Thursday.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz there are over 4,000 world-wide, with 500 in the UK of which less than a 100 are grown commercially. It’s certainly different. Thanks, me too. They sure are.
      I hope your spell of cold weather finishes soon. xx

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing Mike have a blessed day

  5. Allotmental says:

    My broad beans haven’t appeared after 2 weeks but I always sow some into trays as a back up. Soil is still quite wet 😐

  6. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Your horticultural trading shed sounds like an Aladdin’s cave – how useful!

  7. CJ says:

    Love that pale daffodil, it’s absolutely gorgeous. I fear my broad beans may face the same fate, it’s been so cold here. I need to get some manure to my plot as well, you’ve made me wonder if our trading shed sells it. I shall investigate. It would be easier than lugging it from the garden shop. Wishing you a good week of plotting. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I do like them but really prefer the single ones. I reckon the cold and damp has been the cause of them not germinating. I’d be surprised if your trading shed doesn’t sell it. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. Jo says:

    I had a potato planting day today – which no doubt means I’ll have a glut later in the year 🙂 Still at least they’re all in now and I can start planning my french and runner bean planting spree in May/

  9. Jo says:

    I hope your second batch of seeds germinate. Always a pain when the mice have helped themselves. xx

  10. menhir1 says:

    It sounds like you are working with the elements in the ground as well as the elements in the general environment around the plot. xxx

  11. Liz says:

    Sounds like you’ve been busy Flighty. Charlottes are my favourite earlies too, I haven’t grown potatoes before so this year I’m trying Maris Piper. No idea when I’m supposed to put them in, so will get them in when I’ve created a bed for them.
    The daffodils are delightful, they are joyful flowers at this time of year.
    My broad beans are about 1 & 1/2 inches high with only 12 out of 20 germinating, but I’ve started them in the greenhouse to give them some chance against our slugs.
    It’s all picking up out there, isn’t it?
    Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’ve probably not been as busy as it sounds. Maris Piper are a main crop variety which you should plant this month. I agree with what you say about the daffodils. Fingers crossed for your broad beans.
      It sure is. xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Nice to see some good progress on the plot, Flighty! I never tire of seeing new shoots and starts. Hope your broad beans make it.

  13. snowbird says:

    What lovely daffodils! What a shame about your beans, mine haven’t come up yet and they’re in the greenhouse, maybe they will shoot as soon as it warms up. Good to see your onions coming up, mine are too, for the first time ever…. xxx

Leave a Reply

