Tree Following, April 2016 – Liz’s Serviceberry

Here’s my lovely serviceberry now in full bloom here in Lexington, Kentucky.

Liz's Serviceberry, Apr'16 - 1

In an old edition of the Smoky Mountain News, dated 10th April 2013,  there is an interesting article by George Ellison titled Serviceberry is a recurring harbinger of spring. It is full of useful information which I commend to anyone wanting to know more about these wonderful trees.

Liz's Serviceberry, Apr'16 - 2

In tune with springtime Mr Ellison informs us that a common name for this tree used along the Eastern seaboard is shadbush or shadblow.  This is because the shad migrate from the ocean to the inland waterways to swim upstream for their annual spawning when the trees are in bloom.

This picture is looking up through the branches at the blossom, and here’s Charlie sniffling around nearby when he supposed to be in the car.

Liz's Serviceberry, Apr'16 - 3

And a couple of weeks ago I saw this pair of mallards waddling around underneath it.

A pair of mallards

My usual thanks to Mike for letting me guest post.  He tells me that the young oak tree that he’s following has hardly changed since last month so he won’t be doing a post this month. Please have a look at Pat/Squirrelbasket’s Tree Following post for details of what this is all about.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tree Following, April 2016 – Liz’s Serviceberry

  1. Blessing to both of you have a blessed day

  2. Jo says:

    It looks beautiful clothed in it’s spring blossom, especially with the gorgeous blue sky behind it.

    • Liz says:

      Jo, the tree-following is making me pay much more attention than usual. The serviceberry been glorious these past two weeks. Thanks, Liz

  3. snowbird says:

    How beautiful! I’ll look forward to seeing the seasonal changes.xxx

    • Liz says:

      Snowbird I too look forward to the year ahead. For me it has been an under-appreciated tree, and I’m glad that it has made me a true believer! Thanks, Liz.

  4. Flighty says:

    Nice post, and lovely pictures, the one with Charley made me smile.
    I enjoyed reading the article you linked to, which I found interesting and informative.
    Thanks, and you too. xx

    • Liz says:

      Thanks, Mike (and for allowing me your valuable space!) I am always amazed at what interesting resources there are when one starts digging. Right now, Charley is taking a nap; he’s had his adventures for the day. Liz

  5. Lovely! And interesting – I had heard the name shadbush but hadn’t realised that was where the name came from.
    All the best 🙂

    • Liz says:

      Yes Pat, it seems that the serviceberry (amalanchier) has any number of common names and a lot of them with interesting backgrounds. Thanks, Liz.

  6. Thanks for the link to the article, Liz, interesting about all the common names! I’m following a serviceberry also, though I didn’t make it out there in March–too much snow and then I was out-of-town. I will check it next week.

    • Liz says:

      Hollis I’m not sure of my serviceberry variety, although I have a feeling that it is an Amelanchier Canadensis. Do you know your variety? I found a list of different ones, about fifteen in number!
      I hope that your snow has gone now and spring has arrived. Thanks, Liz.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    The serviceberry blooms are certainly sweet looking against that blue Kentucky sky! Charlie obviously has pursuits of his own 😉

    • Liz says:

      Nikki, I’ve been taking advantage of blue skies as they seem to make a good backdrop! Charley most definitely has a mind of his own. Thanks, Liz.

  8. Pingback: Tree following link box for April 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

