Plot and home

Both Friday and yesterday morning a butterfly fluttered past me whilst I was pottering. I’m fairly sure that they were small tortoiseshells, which hibernate over the winter then become active again from March onwards.

At home early yesterday evening I caught a fleeting glimpse of a wren out front at home. It’s been a long time since I last saw one, or heard, one of these distinctive little birds.

Vinca by the log pile

 

I dug up some vinca major that I mentioned in this post and replanted it along one side of the the log pile. I’m pleased with this area now but still thinking about what flowers to grow around it.

 

Harley

 

I often see Harley when I’m walking to or from the plot but don’t always get to say hello.

He’s an amiable eight year old Labrador which his owner got from the Dogs Trust London (Harefield) last August since when he’s made plenty of friends on his daily walks.

 

 

Cosmos 'Velouette'As I mentioned in Thursday’s post I sowed some seeds in pots and trays and the first one, a cosmos Velouette,  appeared yesterday. I never cease to be delighted, and relieved, when they appear.

 

Lastly here’s another picture of those lovely white narcissus Thalia.

White narcissus 'Thalia'

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Plot and home

  1. The vinca looks perfect there. I think seed sowing will always feel exciting and slightly miraculous. Nothing quite beats the sight of those first signs of germination.

  2. CJ says:

    Gorgeous white narcissus, and what a lovely dog. So nice that he’s a rescue dog. I saw a couple of brimstone butterflies at the allotment the other day, so good to see butterflies out again. It must be spring! CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ apparently one of the most popular varieties which isn’t surprising, and yes he sure is. Lucky you, as you say it’s good to see them again. I agree. xx

  3. Liz says:

    It does indeed look like spring! The tiny seedling gives such pleasure and the sightings of birds and butterflies. I love Thalia, such a pure white. And, Harley, what a handsome fellow! Good for the owner to adopt him.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it sure does. I agree on both counts. Me too, and it’s apparently the most popular white variety. I’ll tell him when I see him, it’s bound to get his tail wagging. It certainly was. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I haven’t seen any butterflies yet this year but I’m looking forward to my sedum attracting as many as it did last year, the plant was covered in them, and bees, every time I looked at it. How lovely that you saw a wren, I’ve only ever seen one in my garden and that was a long time ago. Labradors are one of my favourite dog breeds, I’m so pleased that Harley has got a good home, the Dogs Trust do such a good job rehoming so many dogs.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m sure that it won’t be long before you do see some. I’ve only ever seen a handful of wrens. Mine too, they are lovely dogs and I agree with what you say about the Dogs Trust. xx

  5. Ah, Chocolate Labs – my gardening companions of choice 🙂

  6. Glo says:

    Always a delight to see sprouting seeds ~ something to check on each day, now that one has popped up. Your Vinca looks great around the log pile. Would planting nasturtium seeds be any good around it as well? Have you planted any sweet peas yet? Hello Harley! Thalia is beautiful.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is, and that’s just what I do. Thanks. Yes I’m going to sow some nasturtium seeds around that area. I’m giving sweet peas a miss this year as they’ve not done too well the past couple of years. I’ll tell Harley you said hello. It’s a lovely variety. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Harley is a sweetie and the Thalia are are just gorgeous! My first cosmos have pooped up too along with the Zinnia. I haven’t seen many butterflies yet, but lots of bumble bees. Maybe a few alpines would add to the planting around the log pile.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird he’s really is. and aren’t they just. That’s good, you must be well pleased that they have. That sounds like a good idea but I’ll want to keep with wild flowers. xx

  8. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  9. menhir1 says:

    Lots of germination going on in different ways. Nice to see a Wren. It’s about a year since I saw one. Your viewing of butterflies makes me believe that warmer weather may be in the offing in your direction, hopefully, soon in ours.

    Harley is a beaut. I want to stroke him. He is so laid back. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir there is indeed. It was a welcome sight. I saw another butterfly today. I hope so for all of us.
      He sure is. Me too. He’s really placid. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I think the vinca major will look quite lovely there by the logs. Isn’t fun to have butterflies flitting about?

  11. Carrie Gault says:

    Love this post, full of fabulous hope and sunshine plus a really adorable dog = smiley me xxx

  12. homeslip says:

    You’ve highlighted some of my favourite things here Flighty. N. Thalia is so pretty and it has a very nice delicate scent too. Whenever I spot the elusive wrens who live in my wild patch they are always busy. And what a lovely dog, so pleased he has found a good home. Weather forecast does not look good for plotting and it is so chilly. I re-sowed broad beans today as the mice ate the first lot.

    • Flighty says:

      Sarah hello. These narcissus are one of my favourites too. Lucky you with the wrens. He sure is, on both counts. it’s been unsettled today so no plotting for me. I’m beginning to wonder if that’s what has happened to my broad beans. xx

Leave a Reply

