The Newton Ecology Park

Newton Ecology Park

On Friday morning instead of going directly to the allotments I turned off about a 100 yards before the site gates and took a leisurely walk through the Newton Ecology Park.

The light green area is the allotment site, being separated from here by a stream and fence.

 

 

The pond area

 

A little way up the path I turned right and went to look at the pond.  I went to the end of the decking but couldn’t see any grey herons, mallard ducks or moorhens that I’ve occasionally seen before.

 

 

The wet meadow

The only birds that I could see as I looked across the wet meadow were lots of crows, both on the ground and up in the trees over on the right along the fence.

 

 

 

Looking back across the dry meadow shows the impressive line of white willows.

White willows

Two features in the park include this rather uninspiring concrete tree stump sculpture and a circle of stones.

Not an old tree trunk  A circle of stones

Alongside the path is this rather odd looking tree.

An odd looking tree

The old healing garden

 

And further along is the old healing garden, which is now a wildflower area.

 

 

I don’t walk through here very often but was surprised to see that it was relatively clear of graffiti and rubbish.  Reaching the exit I turned left to the nearby allotment site gates. There was no one around as I walked down the site to my plot, where I spent a pleasant few hours just pottering in the sunshine.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Newton Ecology Park

  1. CJ says:

    What a lovely spot, I bet there’s lots of wildlife there. And how refreshing that there’s very little litter. Either someone is very diligent picking it up or the people that go there are well-mannered. We have a group of litter busters here who do a very good job of keeping everything clear. Thank you so much for the seeds you sent, I’m emailing you separately to say a proper thank you. Wishing you a good Easter Sunday. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      Cj it sure is, and yes there is. I hope that it’s like that generally as it used to look like a rubbish tip. I despair at how much litter and rubbish is seen everywhere nowadays. You’re most welcome, and thanks for the email. Thanks, I enjoyed a quiet day. xx

  2. Chloris says:

    Nice to see the ecology park, these protected green areas are so precious. It looks lovely. Happy Easter Mike.

  3. Jo says:

    How lovely to have this area so close by, and though you didn’t see many birds other than crows on this visit, I’m sure there must be many around. Glad you managed to get a bit of plotting done in the sunshine.

  4. Carrie Gault says:

    No litter – hurrah! I’m sure this place will be a delight in years to come, love those willows but the concrete stump, umm? Both a happy note that you had the place to yourself but also a little sad, wish more people had a real love for nature. xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie hurrah indeed. I’d like to think it will, and I agree about the willows and stump. It was fairly early as later on there would have been dog-walkers and others around. I agree with what you say though. xx

  5. Liz says:

    That must be quite a large area of green space with the allotments and the ecology park. Do they have any benches in the park where people can sit and ponder or eat lunch? The concrete stump is a little weird! Lots of crows here too. Glad to hear about the absence of litter. Perhaps there are clean-up fairies or elves that come out at night and get to work. Happy Easter!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it’s probably smaller than it looks and sounds. I think there are a few benches there. I’ve yet to find anyone with a good word to say about that stump. I often see the crows when I’m on the plot. I’m hoping that the absence of litter is how it is generally now as it used to be a terrible problem there. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. Allotmental says:

    Thats not far from my plot 😉

  7. Awesome update thank you for sharing and have a blessed day

  8. The Ecology Park looks like a lovely place – a nice start to some plotting.

  9. menhir1 says:

    Do the stones represent anything abstract, or neolithic? As for the stump, I wonder if a tree did stand on the spot, but, if so, what type. It is a pity there is no clue. Or, perhaps, that is the point, these objects could be there for you to ponder on and reach no conclusion, rather like a representation of philosophy! It appears to be a misty morning. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I would guess neither. The tree stump was commissioned by the council. I’ll try to find out some details about it. All I remember is that is was costly and controversial at the time. It was sunny but the first couple of pictures where taken into the sun. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    What an interesting place. Shame you missed the herons though, but great to hear there is no litter.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it certainly is. I’ve seen a heron there once and overflying the allotments occasionally on the way to/from it. Yes, the lack of litter was most welcome. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    How lovely that you have two green places to visit within such a short distance. The site you linked had a little map so I went to have a look-see at your neighborhood. The bird’s-eye-view of the allotments was fun to see — think I may have made out which one is yours!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is, and across the road is the other allotment site, a large park and playing fields. What a good idea, must do that some time and see if I can identify it. xx

  12. Glad to read that the area was free of rubbish etc, promising. It could be a lovely place later in spring.

  13. Jo says:

    It looks like a lovely place to visit & I’m glad you had a good day all round. Like you I despair at the amount of litter blowing around xx

Leave a Reply

