I’ve always said

After a frosty start Thursday was a gloriously sunny, and reasonably warm, day but otherwise the week was mostly chilly and overcast.

I did some plot pottering earlier in the week but I’ve not been there the last couple of days. The coming week looks set to remain mostly dry, overcast and getting slightly warmer.

I’ve still not planted or sown anything either on the plot or in pots for the windowsills at home where I feel that the light levels are still too low.

It’s the spring equinox today and Easter next weekend, which is not generally noted for having good weather,  when the clocks go forward an hour.  Hopefully the weather will then get sunnier and warmer.

Needless to say I’ve been doing plenty of armchair gardening and sofa flying enjoying reading a good book whilst drinking a cup of tea and eating a digestive biscuit or two.

Here’s another wonderful picture by Stephen Darbishire, one of my favourite painters.

Picture by Stephen Darbishire

I’ve always said that if there is reincarnation then I’d like to come back as a well fed and looked after cat.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I’ve always said

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Liz says:

    Love the cosy scene with the kitty cat and anemones.
    Easter seems awfully early this year. I hadn’t realized it was next weekend until someone mentioned it a few days ago! The U.S. Congress in its infinite wisdom moved daylight savings forward a couple of weeks about ten years ago, so we’re already there.
    Enjoy the armchair gardening!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it’s a lovely cosy picture. Yes, Easter is early this year and here it looks like being a wet and windy one. Changing the clocks forward and back here always seems a lot of faffing around.
      Thanks, I did. xx

  3. Jo says:

    What a lovely picture, cats certainly know how to make themselves comfy. I haven’t sown any seeds yet either, not that I’ve got many to sow this year, perhaps I’ll get it done over Easter. It’s lovely and sunny here today, makes a real change.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo, it sure is, and they sure do. I’ll probably start seed sowing over Easter as well.
      Lucky you, although it did stop raining and brightened up here after lunch. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Ah, yes, you don’t want to be an alley cat…no guarantees you’d get to nice places. What’s not to be liked about being a petted cat. All you need to do is purr, wag your tail, look appealing and get fed!

    I’d forgotten it was the Equinox today. Thanks for the reminder. We are into longer days and enjoying the extra daylight, which in quality, do vary, as you say. The last couple of days where we are at present, have been absolutely, joyously, spring like. It is so nice.

    Have a good week. 🙂

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir too right I don’t! I think that I could do all that.
      The equinox, Easter and clock changing are almost all together this year. Good to see that you’ve enjoyed a couple of good spring like days.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. Joanne says:

    I think I’d like to come back as a very pampered Rocky hound, spoilt is not the word. I like armchair gardening at this time of year too. Take care xx

  6. CJ says:

    What a gorgeous picture. I’ve often thought that a cat is the animal to be. Complete freedom, but with food, shelter and healthcare thrown in. That’s the life. I’m looking forward to some warmer weather, it’s been a bit chilly lately. Wishing you a good week. CJ xx

  7. Liz says:

    Hi Flighty, I am sure that anything sown after Easter will quickly catch up with things sown before, once the light levels increase nature will do her best to do her best! Delightful photo, the anemones in the vase are so vivid. Stay warm over Easter, it looks like its not going to be a warm one!
    Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m sure your right, and I’m happy to bide my time. Those anemones really catch the eye don’t they. It looks like being typical not-nice weather Easter. xx

  8. annie_h says:

    What a lovely picture, my cat is currently curled up on the back of my chair, looking very content. They know how to get comfy. I’m really hoping that they’ve got the forecast wrong for Easter but yes it is often a disappointment. I’m off next week so hoping for some good days at least!

    • Flighty says:

      Annie I do envy the way cats can look so content and comfy. Let’s hope that it is better than the forecast. I hope you do have some good weather next week. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Oh you and me both re coming back as a cat! I do like that painting, it looks so snug, I wouldn’t mind joining the cat on the sofa. It’s really cold here, and has been since we got back. I sowed lots of seeds and finally a few are beginning to germinate.xxx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, a beautiful cozy scene made complete with cat. The life of a contented cat is to be envied for sure 😉

  11. Love the notion of sofa flying, with the children home over easter I may have to co-pilot with them 🙂

  12. I’m being much more relaxed about seed sowing this year, and will repeat last year’s experiments with sowing more directly too. I think you would make an excellent pampered cat, one that would appreciate a friendly lap and the occasional saucer of tea…

  13. Alison says:

    I love the the painting! The cat looks so contented 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

