Old and new

Rhubarb

I’m always pleased when the rhubarb starts appearing again as it is now doing.  I cover mine with a couple of inches of compost and wood chippings in the autumn to keep the ground a bit warmer over the winter.  In recent weeks I kept finding that some animal, probably a fox, had been digging where it is.   I’m not that fussed about rhubarb but eat it either just stewed with a sprinkling of demerara sugar or in a crumble.

 

 

Sedum

On Sunday I saw plot neighbour Fran who asked if I wanted some sedum plants that she no longer wanted.  I said yes and dug them up and transplanted them on Monday. As they were only small I grouped them together so that they’ll hopefully form a nice big clump.  In return I gave her some cosmos and climbing French bean seeds.

 

Daffodils, Mar'16 - 4

 

 

Here’s another daffodil picture taken from a less familiar angle.

 

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Old and new

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing when say cover do you completely the crown of the so i know for next winter have a blessed day

  2. CJ says:

    As you say, it’s always lovely to see the rhubarb up isn’t it. Mine isn’t a particularly early variety (no idea what it is, I inherited it) and I always like to see all the different patches at the allotment site at varying stages. No doubt some people are picking theirs already. Sedums are great for bees aren’t they. I have one that I got from a local charity plant sale and the bees love it. Wishing you a lovely weekend. Good that we’ve hit a dry spell isn’t it. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. I’ve no idea what variety mine is either, a plot neighbour gave it to me. Most plots seem to grow it, and as you say there all at varying stages. Sedums certainly are. Good fot you. Thanks, and to you too. Yes it’s most welcome, but could be a bit warmer as well. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    dare we say that spring has sprung! xxx

  4. My rhubarb is an early variety, and already has foot long spires, I am doing my usual umming and ahhing about how long to leave it before I start picking… Lovely to have the gift of sedums, they will make the bees very happy later in the year! Happy plotting Flighty.

  5. Our Rhubarb is looking a lot like yours at the moment. Although, we have now been bought another 3 plants by someone with nowhere to put them. I’m sure we’ll find somewhere to plant them but not sure whether we’ll find some way to eat all the rhubarb when it finally comes!

  6. Jo says:

    I will really miss my rhubarb this year, I had a lovely big clump on the plot, too much for us but I gave lots away, this year I’ll have none. Your sedum will be a big hit with the bees and the butterflies, they love it. I couldn’t believe how many more varieties of butterfly my plant attracted in to the garden last year, I don’t think I every saw it without bees or butterflies on it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo that’s a shame. I usually give some away as well. I’m looking forward to seeing bees and butterflies on it, especially in view of what you say. xx

  7. Liz says:

    I love rhubarb and have been buying stalks at the grocery for the past couple of weeks. Mine hasn’t appeared in my garden yet. Do you know what variety of sedum came your way? The “Autumn Joy” here is very popular and does well in fall with the bees and butterflies.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I guess they will have have been forced to be this early. I’m sure yours will appear soon. Sadly no, Fran will gave them to me doesn’t know the variety. Perhaps when they flower I may be able to identify it. xx

  8. Joanne says:

    Mine is just starting to poke through the ground. I like it in a crumble rather than a pie but it is nowhere near big enough to harvest for Easter as it has been some years. How lovely to swap plants with your plot neighbours. Hope you have a lovely gardening weekend xx

  9. Chloris says:

    I love rhubarb. I cover mine with a bucket to draw it up. I hope you are enjoying the sunny weather.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris good for you. If I dad, and had more than one plant that’s what I would do as well. I did yesterday, but sadly today it’s chilly and dull again. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Lovely that you acquired the sedum, the pollinators love it. Rhubarb already poking through eh? I must go and check mine out.xxx

  11. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Pleasing to see that rhubarb again – the promise of crumbles to come.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Nice healthy clump of sedum there — I’m surprised they’ll take as much moisture as y’all have. And with everything so piled up, I have neglected to THANK YOU for the cosmos seeds! I’m going to set them out this weekend and maybe even do some gardening 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is, and I’ve planted them in a well drained spot so they should do well. Goodness I’d forgotten all the cosmos seeds which I sent you. I’m glad they arrived okay, and hope that they do well for you. Enjoy your weekend. xx

Leave a Reply

