I’ll be plotting most mornings

Despite some heavy rain earlier in the week I’ve been able to fork over the vegetable patches to turn the spread compost into the ground.

The plot vegetable areasNot surprisingly the plot is still looking mostly brown and bare but the clump of what I call proper daffodils are providing some much welcome colour.  Looking back at recent posts I see that I’ve not shown any pictures of them here.

 

These traditional daffodils are one of my favourite flowers.

Daffodils, Mar'16 - 6I hope that the Met Office weather forecast is accurate for the coming week as it’s notable for showing no rain.  That will be most welcome as it will give the still soggy ground a chance to dry out a bit, and needless to say I’ll be plotting most mornings.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I’ll be plotting most mornings

  1. Hurrah for daffodils, they always make me smile. Your plot looks immaculate Flighty, I hope the forecast is accurate and you have an excellent week of plotting.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    The bare plot has lots of POTENTIAL, that’s the main thing! I’ll be planting Broad Beans soon – maybe next weekend – but the soil is still too damp for sowing any small seeds.

  3. Liz says:

    How lovely and welcoming the daffodils are. One year you had a poem about them.
    I look at your wonderful fresh brown plots and think of one of my flower beds taken over by native goldenrod which, while pretty in flower, allow no room for other plants I want to grow! To work! And, good luck with the weather.

  4. Jo says:

    Yes, I’m a fan of ‘proper’ daffodils too. Your plot is looking lovely and neat, all ready for the coming season. We’ve had a lovely weekend weather wise, I think Archie will get a walk in the woods today, he’s been missing out because of the rain, it was far too boggy but I’m hoping the bit of sunshine we’ve had will have dried it up.

  5. Bairleafarm says:

    It’s been raining here hard the last few days. I had a small break where I did a little soil work. It’s still raining but is kind of warm and little wind. I decided it would be a good time to set up a green house. Your garden looks great already.

  6. CJ says:

    I just love to see a nice clean and clear allotment in spring all ready for some planting. Mine has a long way to go to get to that stage though! Gorgeous daffs, good to see they are out at the proper time. Wishing you a good week of plotting. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I do too. I’m sure that you’ll soon catch up, especially if the weather stays dry. I do like to see daffodils at Easter time. Thanks. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    Traditional daffs are hard to beat. It is hard to work with soggy soil, in particular, clay based soil.

    There seem to be a few fallow plots adjacent to yours.

  8. snowbird says:

    You just can’t beat a good daffadowndilly! Your plot is looking great, rearing to go now! Here’s to us all getting a little decent weather. It’s been freezing here ever since we got home.xxx

  9. Joanne says:

    I’ve got a collection of daffs under my sitting room windowsill. They are always such happy looking flowers, I plan to plant more this year. I hope the weather does stay as good as the predicted forecast. Have a good week xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    How tidy everything looks in anticipation of the new season!

  11. annie_h says:

    I hope the weather stays dry for you and you can get to your plot most mornings. As always we had a lovely weekend but I had other things to do and no time for gardening. All lovely things but you need to make the most of any nice weather. Lets hope it lasts to this weekend!!
    Your plot looks great, all ready for the season ahead.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie thanks, I hope so too. That’s sometimes a bit of a quandary when you’re a gardener. Fingers crossed that it does.
      Thanks, I can’t wait to get planting and sowing. xx

Leave a Reply

