Tree Following, March 2016 – Liz’s Serviceberry

The Serviceberry is a member of the Rose family (Rosaceae), and I wanted to find out why it’s called Amelanchier in North America.

According to the Missouri Botanical Garden webpage Amelanchier derives from a French provincial tree of the same genus, Amelanchier ovalis. Then there is the European tree Sorbus domestica or True Service tree.  All of which I find confusing.

I took these pictures of my tree in Lexington, Kentucky on a sunny day just over a week ago.  The first one is looking up through the branches to a cloudless sky, and the second one shows buds forming at the branch ends.

Liz's Serviceberry, Mar'16 - 1  Liz's Serviceberry, Mar'16 - 2

Below left shows lichen growing on it, which I hope isn’t a sign of trouble. On the right are species crocus growing at the foot of the tree, a sure sign that spring is on the way.

Liz's Serviceberry, Mar'16 - 3   Liz's Serviceberry, Mar'16 - 4

My thanks to Mike for letting me guest post. Please have a look at Pat/Squirrelbasket’s comprehensive post for details of what tree following is all about.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tree Following, March 2016 – Liz’s Serviceberry

  1. Lichen won’t damage the tree at all, and is often regarded as a sign of clean air, so something to celebrate. Love the branches against the blue sky.

  2. Awesome update and blessing to you both

  3. menhir1 says:

    Lichen shouldn’t be a sign of problems,I believe it should indicate the reverse. Where I live, which has very clean clear air, we have lots of it and it is considered to be an indicator of those very conditions. Lichen does not tend to grow in highly polluted conditions, as far as I am aware.

    Nice pix.

    • Liz says:

      Menhir, I feel reassured that the lichen is a good sign. I am a long way from the London pea-soupers of my youth! Thanks, Liz

  4. Just to reinforce what everyone else is saying, that kind of lichen is a good sign. And I do love lichens – that is a particularly pretty patch!
    The tree looks great – and the combination of crocuses and ivy is very pretty and unusual.
    All the best 🙂

  5. Jo says:

    I think lichen gives a tree a bit of character. Lovely to see the crocus at the foot of the tree too, spring isn’t far away now.

    • Liz says:

      Jo, lichen does have attractive features doesn’t it. It’s on the way to 70F today so some gardening is in order. Thanks, Liz.

  6. snowbird says:

    I shall enjoy seeing and hearing more. Glad the lichen is a good sign.xxx

  7. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I’ve got a young Serviceberry so it’s really interesting to see what a lovely tree it could turn into. Thanks for posting, Liz.

    • Liz says:

      Matt, you will enjoy your serviceberry, I’m sure! Apparently people eat the fruit, but the birds always beat me to it. Thanks, Liz.

  8. Flighty says:

    A nice post, and lovely pictures. You must be relieved to learn that the lichen is a good sign and not a problem. I found the linked webpage interesting. Happy tree following. xx

    • Liz says:

      Mike. I learned from Lucy (Loose and Leafy) to look around the tree itself and see what might be of interest there! Thanks, Mike, for inviting me to guest post. Liz.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    The rose family! How interesting. I like the flakiness of the lichen. What a diverse family of plants.

    • Liz says:

      Hi Nikki, it’s quite extraordinary, isn’t it, the breadth and diversity of plant families? I would never have guessed until I looked it up! The lichen is very appealing. Thanks, Liz

  10. Pingback: Tree following link box for March 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

