Over half the vegetables…

that I’m intending to grow this year have been given the RHS Award of Garden Merit. These are plants are that are judged to be excellent for home garden use,  of good constitution, reasonably resistant to pests and diseases and relatively easy to grow.   They include runner bean St.George, cucumber Marketmore, onion Sturion,  potato Charlotte and sweet corn Sundance.   I’ve also grown all previously and generally done well with them, which is another reason to stick with tried favourites.

Apart from a gentle forking and raking over the vegetable patches are now all ready once ground conditions are okay and weather conditions permitting.  It’s been cold and wet recently but looking at the forecast it looks like being dry and warmer later in the week. Hopefully that heralds a general change into spring and I can make a start planting and sowing towards the end of the month with a row of broad bean Karmazyn seeds, followed by the onion sets Red Baron and Sturon then the first early potatoes Red Duke of York.

Last, and largest, onion and potatoI’ve only got a handful of onions and potatoes left in store to use and always save the largest to last. They’re seen here on a ten inch dinner plate to give an indication of size. Having to buy these for a few months is not something I look forward to.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Over half the vegetables…

  1. What a lovely blog post and pleasing to know they have been given such award have a blessing of a day

  2. menhir1 says:

    We’re on to the last few of our shallot sized red onions, a fiddle to peel but they give great results in flavouring and decorating meals. The onions I am buying, (not red) are quite good at the moment.

    Like you, I am looking forward to the feel and sights of Spring. xxx

  3. Liz says:

    To me, making it to March with home grown vegetables is quite an achievement! It’s sunny here today; spring is almost here! So hope the weather makes it possible for you to plant and sow soon.

  4. Jo says:

    You’ve done well to have potatoes and onions left at this time of year, also that you’re well prepared at the plot for the season ahead. I always found that I was playing catch up at this time of year, rushing to do jobs that had been left from last year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I sure have considering that some years they just about last into the new year.
      I’ve made the most of days when I have been able to plot which really has made a difference. xx

  5. homeslip says:

    I’ve just read your last few posts. Your compost looks amazing and I agree that the compost heap is the most important part of the allotment. I love the idea of a washing up bowl pond and may copy your idea on my plot this year. How wonderful to be almost self-sufficient in potatoes and onions. My potatoes lasted until Christmas and I’ve been giving onions a break because of a build-up of allium diseases in the soil although I’ve continued with garlic and leeks. Thanks for the link to seed of C. Marketmore as homegrown cucumbers are one of life’s treats. Actually what a great site, definitely one to bookmark – thanks again Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Sarah that’s nice to know. I’m well pleased with it. An old washing up bowl makes a really good pond. I think that if I had a full size plot that I would be, as it is I generally do pretty good. That’s a shame about not being able to grow onions. You’re welcome and I happily recommend MoreVeg as I’ve used them since I’ve had the plot. xx

  6. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    You’ll be in for a good harvest if this year’s do as well as that potato and onion from last year!

  7. CJ says:

    I always look out for AGM varieties as well, and I stick with favourites when they find them. Do you sow your broad beans directly outside? I haven’t sown any inside this year, but I might try some straight into the plot later on. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ good for you. Yes I sow my broad beans direct. They generally all germinate, and the only problem I do have some years is with blackfly. xx

  8. annie_h says:

    I’ve just finished my onions and got just shallots left but hoping they will last a bit longer. I can never make my potatoes last through though. Yes lets hope we get some spring weather soon so that you can get planting your onions sets and potatoes for this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie I feel I’m doing well if my onions and potatoes last into the new year. I think that we’re all wishing for some good spring weather now. xx

  9. Joanne says:

    I’ve got a few potatoes left in pots outside. I’m sure they will be used just in time for the new plantings. Wishng you a lovely week xx

  10. snowbird says:

    I tend to stick with what works too. Gosh, good to hear that you still actually have potatoes and onions, albeit that they are running out. I simply cannot grow onions, this is going to be my last year of trying! I found lots of potatoes in my veggie patch yesterday when giving it a bit of a weeding.It’s exciting to think the growing season is coming around again.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird good for you. Thanks, I’m well pleased that they’ve lasted this long. it’s a shame that you can’t grow onions. Lucky you finding some potatoes like that. It certainly is. xx

  11. The AGM awards are so useful when it comes to picking through the bewildering array of seeds on offer. Sounds as if you are perfectly poised for the days of sowing and planting ahead.

  12. Chloris says:

    Great that you have kept yourself going so long with your own potatoes and onions.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Great plan to grow tried and true favorites! I know that feeling when you have to purchase something. For years, I worked for the company that made Hunt’s ketchup. It was a sad day when I realized I had to actually pay hard cash for a bottle!

Leave a Reply

