The log pile and pond

As I mentioned during December I wanted to rebuild the log pile and tidy up the surrounding area, including the washing up bowl pond.

White fungusI tackled the log pile on Sunday morning when I removed all the existing logs then rebuilt it using mostly new ones that I’d collected over recent months.

Dark fungusIt was interesting to see the extent that some old ones had decomposed.  There were plenty of creepy-crawlies such as centipedes and woodlice, as well as some fascinating looking fungi as shown in the pictures.

On Monday I made a few minor changes then turned my attention to the pond and surrounding area.  I left the two teasels which are about a foot or so in front of the pond and there’s plenty of rosebay willowherb starting to re-appear.  I may well also grow one of the sunflowers Mongolian Giant in this area.

Click on the link above if you want to see a picture of what it looked like before I started, and this is what it looks like now.

Rebuilt log pile and pond

It’ll look better in the summer when the grass and plants have grown to partially cover and shield them.

March, and spring, has typically started off with a mix of cold, wet and windy weather so I’m thankful there were a couple good days when I could do this.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The log pile and pond

  1. Caro says:

    It’s a good time of year for tackling jobs like these – on a couple of days recently I’ve felt there was some real warmth in the sun – but being outdoors at the end of the day reminds me that it’s still too cold for any seedlings. I rescued a stack of logs from the skip at the recycling centre a couple of days ago – it was too good a find not to be overlooked and will probably end up in a bug hotel. :o) Caro x
    PS Sunny today, hope you’re able to make the most of it!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it certainly is, and I’m thankful that I’ve been able to over the past week or so. Without the cold wind it would have been really pleasant. Good for you rescuing those logs. xx
      Re your PS I spent a couple of hours plotting yesterday morning.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. menhir1 says:

    Interesting ideas. It is surprising how inventive you can be with a limited area to develop.
    xx

  4. Jo says:

    It’s amazing how full of life these little wood piles are, it’s so worthwhile making them. I found a newt under a small log I’d placed at the side of my tiny pond in the garden, I was thrilled about that. Gardeners certainly appreciate the eco system and how each living creature has an impact on others, it’s so important to provide habitats for them.

  5. Liz says:

    I clicked on the link for December and it’s amazing how the log area has changed! Well done. Did you put the “old” logs on your compost pile?

  6. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I like your little pond, Flighty. I miss having water in my garden so might have to do something about that this year.

  7. CJ says:

    It’s a fabulous wildlife area, every plot should have one. No doubt there are dozens of different species living happily in the logpile and the pond. Do you get frogspawn? I think my frogs are on the move, I’m seeing ripples in the pond from time to time. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, and I agree they should. I’m sure you’re right. No I’ve only seen a couple of frogs in it never any frogspawn. Lucky you. xx

  8. Joanne says:

    I’m starting a little log pile this year, it’s amazing what beasties can be found amongst the rotting logs. Hope you have a good weekend xx

  9. snowbird says:

    It’s a great time to tackle a job like that. I’m always amazed at how much wildlife a log pile attracts and how quickly logs rot down. Good that you have been able to get out it’s been far too cold and wet here.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it certainly was. Me too about the wildlife, and the logs varied considerably in how much they decomposed. There have been days like that here as well, with a few better ones which I made the most of. xx

  10. Love your tiny pond! The guy who had our half plot before us apparently was a plumber, so our pond is an old bath. We do get frogspawn, but not been to the plot this year as too cold and wet so don’t know if it’s there yet or not. We also had a couple more baths, so last year we grew carrots in one, fairly successfully, and parsnips in the other – too small to use as we didn’t manage to commission it early enough to sow seed really but at least we tried! LOL! Really must get down there when we have a dry day as we need to re-plant the rhubarb.

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie hello, and thanks. Lucky you, baths are good for ponds or growing carrots. Hope you get a few dry, and warmer, days so you can get on your plot. Take care. xx

  11. Plantaliscious says:

    What a perfect task for this time of year Flighty, and the end results look great. My various log piles are all hidden away in undergrowth but I was cutting back brambles yesterday and found myself admiring the way one of the larger ones has rotted down. No impressive fungi though.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it sure was, and I’m pleased with what it looks like. They sound good, and I think that it’s well worth having at least one pile. The fungi is often well hidden. xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Looks like it will be a well-loved spot again very soon.

Leave a Reply

