As I’ve mentioned recently…

Purple crocusesthe crocuses haven’t fared too well this year in the heavy rain and high winds.

 

I usually go to the plot in the morning, after breakfast, but although Tuesday was dry and sunny it was very cold and frosty so I didn’t go until after lunch. Β I’m glad that I’d waited as when I got there most of the crocuses were open in the sunshine.

 

White crocuses and a beeThis year in the long planter by the shed should have been crocus chrysanthus Mixed but only purple ones have appeared, which is slightly annoying as I do prefer the white and yellow ones. Β Later this year I will transplant them to join various ones in the crocus patch underneath the rose Pretty Lady.

 

It was also good to see bees buzzing round.

 

Yellow crocuses

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to As I’ve mentioned recently…

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. karengimson says:

    They are a joy, when it’s so cold and wet. I love the white ones too. I’m growing Joan of Arc which is very pretty.

  3. Julie says:

    Simply gorgeous… Our honey bees are stirring and coming out when the sun shines and warms the day up a little. Not today though, cold and rainy… boo! xx

  4. Liz says:

    The crocus are such a joy! The weather here is supposed to warm up for the weekend, then snow again. Come on spring!

  5. Jo says:

    It certainly lifts the spirits to see flowers blooming in the sunshine. I haven’t bought any new crocus for my planters this year, I have some in the garden but they haven’t done so well this year.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    How bright and cheery these look with a bit of sunshine on them! And good timing on your part, too πŸ˜‰ I suppose there’s a predominant color for most flowers. Pink for roses, flame for freesias, and perhaps purple for crocuses. I’ve had a blush rose revert to pink. And the freesias that pop up on their own tend to be yellow-orange-red.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they sure do. You’re probably right but I think that these were either packed or labelled wrongly. It’s interesting to see reversions of colour in plants. xx

  7. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty. I like purple crocuses but the ones in our front lawn usually get trampled by the dog! They always seem to come back for more though.

  8. You’re well ahead of us!

  9. CJ says:

    Wonderful crocuses, and how lovely that bees have been around. You’re right, they haven’t liked the wild weather at all. CJ xx

  10. Chloris says:

    They are so pretty when the sun comes out. The bees love them too.

  11. elaine says:

    Where are my crocus they haven’t made an appearance yet – I am just wondering if some creature has dug them up and eaten them – I love the pale lavender ones particularly.

  12. richiechivz says:

    These really are a wonderful sight.

  13. We’ve had the same mild, wet winter…The good news is the crocuses, daffodils, and tulips are all up through the ground now.

  14. I love crocuses, wonderful to capture them open.

Leave a Reply

