I’ve done enough

I am generally patient but by this time of year I’ve done enough planning and pondering and want to get plotting again. However it was far too cold last week and the ground is still soggy so I’m going to have to wait a while yet.

A camera shy daffodil

 

I looked round the plot, and site, a couple of times during the week but the only picture I took was of this camera shy daffodil.  The mini ones in particular which are only a foot or so high,  facing down and often away are not easy to get a conventional picture of.

 

 

 

Periwinkle

Out front at home there is some periwinkle (Vinca major) growing alongside the wall, and being sheltered has been flowering all winter.

The forecast for the coming week is staying cold, but mostly dry and sunny.  By next weekend it looks like getting warmer, which will be welcome.

 

Have a good week!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’ve done enough

  1. cathsveggies1 says:

    I have those purple flowers too and never knew their name….Thanks Flighty x

  2. Jo says:

    We’re usually saying that the ground is frozen solid at this time of year, not sure which is best, frozen or soggy. My tete a tetes which I grew in a pot were transferred to the garden after flowering last year and they’re just starting to come in to bloom again now. No sign of the taller daffodils yet though.

  3. Liz says:

    Miserable here too; bitterly cold and snowing on and off. But the forecast is better for next weekend. We’ll look forward to that.
    I have the periwinkle (vinca) as a ground cover in my front garden. It is under the serviceberry tree. Not in bloom yet. The blue flowers are so pretty.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz that sounds wintry. Fingers crossed that it is better for both of us.
      Periwinkle can become rather invasive can’t it. It should look good when it does flower. xx

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  5. Hang in there, Flighty – spring’s nearly here!

  6. plot34 says:

    Awww, a shy daffodil 🙂

  7. karengimson says:

    So ready for some warmer weather now. I too have done a lot of pondering, and now want to get stuck in. All my perennials need splitting and replanting. Nothing has been cut back because it’s been too wet. The bulbs are starting to come up through the plants. It’s a bit of a mess!

  8. Keeping my fingers crossed for next weekend, for you and I 🙂

  9. CJ says:

    The periwinkle is amazing, the foliage looks so lush and green. No doubt the warmer winter has been easy on it. I hope the plots all dry up a bit soon, mine needs some attention too. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  10. I know what you mean Flighty, it is bright but cold here today, ideal for a bit of weed clearing and plant removal, but I’ve gone down with a cold, very annoying! Hope you get some good plotting weather soon, and in the mean time, enjoy the daffs, mine are surprisingly late this year, no idea why. Maybe I inadvertently disturbed them last year when weeding?

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I hope that you feel better soon. I did spend a couple of hours plotting this morning. It was dry and sunny but with a bitterly cold wind. I’m sure that your daffodils will appear soon. xx

  11. Joanne says:

    It will be very welcome indeed as we have this weekend planned for some garden jobs xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    It’s nice to see a few things are doing well despite that cold weather! I didn’t know vinca major could do so well. Most of the vincas I see around here are the minor varieties.

  13. elaine says:

    I think we are all getting itchy fingers, won’t be long now before we can get stuck in.

  14. It has been warm enough to get into the garden, but the ground from all the rain is still a bit to soft to walk on and get a chance to really do much in the garden.

Leave a Reply

