Tree Following, February 2016 – Young oak tree

Oak tree Jan'16 -1As I mentioned last month I’m going to follow this young oak tree that is growing on a nearby plot.

The trunk grows straight for about five feet before branching out in various directions.  I don’t know if it’s natural growth or if it was pruned so causing this.

Oak tree Jan'16 - 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oak tree Jan'16 - 3Being a deciduous tree, that is one that that sheds leaves annually, it’s surprising to see that there are still a few hanging on.

Have a look at this extensive Tree Following post over on Pat’s, The Squirrelbasket, blog to see what it’s all about.

Have a good weekend!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Tree Following, February 2016 – Young oak tree

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Joanne says:

    A lovely tree to follow, I discovered an oak sapling in my front garden last year. Whilst it can’t stay there for ever I shall enjoy it while I can xx

  3. Interesting branch structure, as you say!
    It’s funny how oaks and beeches hold on to their dead leaves so much – but at least it makes them easier to recognise in winter.
    Thanks for taking part!
    All the best 🙂

  4. I don’t think I’m often aware of small oaks. There’s one not far away the council planted but I’ve not visited it recently. And a few years ago I nearly stepped on one in a wood in the Lake District. I will have to open my eyes wider.

  5. Liz says:

    That will be an interesting young’un to watch. Do you know if your plot neighbor plans to allow it to grow to maturity?

  6. CJ says:

    How lovely to see a little oak tree growing, I shall enjoy watching it throughout the season. CJ xx

  7. That is interesting. I used to live in an area with deciduous oaks (bur oaks) and they were the last to drop their leaves, some staying all winter. I wonder if this is an “oak thing” 😉

  8. I understood that it is common for the leaves in younger oak trees to not drop, is that not true.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I love the shape of oak leaves. Wonder which of the many varieties of oaks this is.

  10. Jo says:

    I love the oak, I think it’s one of those trees which even children recognise. I shall look forward to your posts about it throughout the year, I’m sure they’ll be very interesting.

  11. Julie says:

    What a lovely little oak tree.. look forward to watching it change through the year. We spotted a little oak sapling within our hawthorn hedge we planted many years ago and have let it grow it’s quite big now. We found another sapling a a few years ago and moved and planted that in another part of the garden. You have a good weekend too Flighty :o) xx

  12. There is no better tree to follow. Imagine how many creatures a young oak will shelter! It has an important future ahead of it.

  13. Chloris says:

    Strange how some oaks keep their leaves all winter and others drop them. I’ve never understood why.

  14. I’ve never seen an oak with that habit before – but there again, like Lucy, I am usually unaware of oaks that don’t tower above everything else. I wonder how many I have missed over the years. I look forward to watching it come in to leaf.

  15. Pingback: Tree following link box for February 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

