The weather last week…

continued to be unsettled but I did spend a welcome couple of hours plotting on Tuesday morning when it was sunny, although cold and windy.

Mini daffodilsThe mini daffodils are doing well and looking good.

Sadly most of the crocuses aren’t faring so good due to heavy rain and high winds we’ve had at times but I was pleased to see these yellow ones.

Yellow crocuses

 

 

 

 

 

Snowdrops out back at homeOut back at home it’s mostly  grass with some trees along the boundary fence. At the foot of one is a large group of snowdrops including these.

The weather later today, overnight and most of tomorrow is looking pretty dire with lots of heavy rain and winds gusting up to 50 mph at times.  That means I’ll be unlikely to do much, if any, plotting again during the coming week.

How to cope with changeable weather is an article written by Alys Fowler which appeared in The Guardian yesterday that’s well worth reading.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The weather last week…

  1. elaine says:

    I have a few tete-a-tete out but no crocus yet, the timing in the garden seems a little skew whiff at the moment as I have tulips showing already! Have a good week despite the weather forecast.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    “Changeable” hardly cuts it, in my view! “Atrocious” would be more like it. Having said that, it’s sunny here at present, for a change. The ground is still saturated though. Not good gardening weather. My Crocuses are not faring well either, by the way.

  3. We walked up on the cliffs yesterday, to discover that the daffodils planted around one of the benches just off the coastal footpath were nearly over – they don’t normally appear for another month! I don’t have any daffs up and flowering at all yet. The crocuses seem to be surviving well though, as are the snowdrops. So valuable for brightening the otherwise gloomy days.

  4. Jo says:

    My daffodils are still in bud but I doubt it’ll be long before they’re flowering now. I’ve had snowdrops in my garden ever since we moved here over twenty two years ago but they’ve never bulked up, still, it’s nice to see the few that I do have flowering away.

  5. plot34 says:

    I have tete-a-tete in bloom alongside a geranium that hasn’t stopped flowering! Lovely shades of yellow there Flighty.

  6. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  7. CJ says:

    Gorgeous flowers, I hope they survive the coming winds. I fear our fence will not. Have a good week, even if you’re not plotting. CJ xx

  8. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Interesting link, Flighty. I think climate change will mean we’ll all have to cope with more changeable and extreme weather.

  9. Liz says:

    I think we can all lament with Alys Fowler and I suppose learn to adapt to the unpredictable weather patterns. Your daffodils and snowdrops are a welcome sight.

  10. Our whether seems pretty similar; it’s warm enough to make some things bloom early, but too wet to really get out into the garden much to get a chance to see what is really happening.

  11. Joanne says:

    I’m hoping for a bit of dry weather next weekend so I can weed the garden. If not I shall take a longer time in the garden centre picking my seed potatoes x

  12. menhir1 says:

    Do take care, keep dry and warm. Winds of the speeds you describe, in London and in other towns and cities in the south, are fearsome because of the built up areas and all the trees within them. Add to that all the various traffic structures, vehicular and utilities, there are recipes for great disruption and other problems.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I always try to. Thankfully I didn’t have to go out yesterday, and it wasn’t quite as bad as forecast so there were few, if any problems here. xx

  13. Julie says:

    I am so fed up with this weather now.. be nice to have it sunny and calm for a few days. We have daffs and snowdrops out.. and like most people our crocuses aren’t faring too well. My tulips are now poking out of the ground and our white flowering currant is bursting into flower! Madness.. xx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, how sweet are those bunches of snowdrops! Your daffs always seem to do well, whatever crazy weather comes your way. We, on the other hand, are time warping to early July weather with temps tickling 90F this week. Good thing shorts and t-shirts are never packed away.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki snowdrops are always a lovely sight. I’m glad the daffodils do as they bring such cheer. Goodness you’re weather has gone crazy. It’s cold and damp here with it being very cold here over the coming week. xx

Leave a Reply

