Perhaps this year…

I still have a couple of Coleus* Fairway on the windowsill at home that I grew from seed last year. They’re in five inch pots, have grown to around eight inches or so and continue to grow new leaves, and small flower spikes which I remove to prolong the show of foliage.

Coleus 'Fairway'

I’ll be sowing some more this year along with the variety Carefree, which has oak-like leaves, that I grew the previous year.

In the past I’ve tried to grow various indoor flowering plants from seed but never had any success.  I’m trying again with Mimosa pudica Pink Sparkleswhich didn’t germinate last year, along with Pentas lanceolata New Look  and Senico cruentus Spring Glory.  All these only grow to around ten inches which make them ideal for pots on my windowsills.

Fingers crossed and perhaps this year…

Have a good weekend!

[* Note Coleus blumeii is now listed as Solenostemon scutellaroides! ]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Perhaps this year…

  1. awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Liz says:

    I’m very impressed by people who grow house plants successfully! Well done. The coleus look great. Isn’t it strange how the botanical names seem to change on a whim? Who decides these things?
    Your new mini daffodil header says “spring”!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz me too, Thanks. I find it annoying especially when it’s change for a popular name like this. No doubt a dreaded committee somewhere.
      I try to have headers that reflect that time of year if possible. xx

  3. Julie says:

    I must get around to having house plants. The Coleus look good and I have my fingers crossed that you succeed with the others this year. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    How to keep up with names eh.

    Your two plants look very happy where they are. xxx

  5. Jo says:

    Your coleus have done really well, they look very healthy. Are you going to keep them as houseplants or plant them out in the summer?

  6. Coleus has really evolved over the years, there are some pretty spectacular varieties now.

  7. Mark Willis says:

    I don’t have room for such frivolities – I need all the space for chillis! 🙂

  8. CJ says:

    They’re looking really healthy, brilliant that you grew them from seed. Good luck with the other ones. CJ xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Well it’s clear you have a knack for house plants — these coleus look healthy and quite happy on your sill!

  10. Chloris says:

    I don’ t think I can get used to Solenostemon, but whatever they are called they are pretty for your windowsill in winter. Good luck with your new seeds.

  11. karengimson says:

    That reminds me- I must grow more coleus. They really cheer up the greenhouse in summer. I grew a really dark leaf one last year. Sadly the vine weevils got it.

  12. Fingers crossed Flighty, your coleus look wonderfully healthy, and so satisfying to have grown them from seed.

Leave a Reply

