Birds and books

Thursday was cold and sunny, and the plot still too soggy to do any proper plotting, so I pruned the grapevine.  Whilst doing that a robin appeared, and later I saw two of them mostly flitting in and out of the hawthorn.

Snowy teasel seed headsAs I was putting the secateurs back in the shed something caught my eye over by the wild patch.  Looking round I was delighted to see a goldfinch perched on one of the teasels. I watched as it dipped it’s head to pull out a seed then look round before doing it again, and it did that more several times before flying off. As I’ve often mentioned I always grow a few teasels, pictured here a few weeks ago,  in the hope of seeing one do this and at long last I have.  I was too far away to take a picture but do please have a look at this wonderful photo of a goldfinch on a teasel head taken by Heather Lowe, a fellow member of the Facebook group Golin Great Tit!

I did the Big Garden Birdwatch yesterday and saw just the usual birds, and numbers, the best of which was a male chaffinch.

Recently I’ve read a handful of books set between just before WW1 through to the late 1930’s, which is period that I find really interesting.  They included We That Are Left by Juliet Greenwood which was a most enjoyable, and satisfying, read being one of the best books I’ve read in ages.

Hardcastle's Spy by Graham IsonI’ve just started a new to me series, the Hardcastle novels , set in London during WW1 and written by Graham Ison.  I’m reading the first one, Hardcastle’s Spy, on my Kobo Mini e-reader,  but I’m sure that the rest will include both library hardbacks and second-hand paperbacks.  With thirteen books written so far they will hopefully provide me with plenty of good reading over the coming months.

Have  a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Birds and books

  1. Jo says:

    How lovely to see the goldfinch on the teasels, I know you grow them in the hope that the goldfinches will be attracted by their seeds so I’m so pleased you got to see that. I often read a good book and wish there were follow ups so I do enjoy a series, thirteen books should certainly see you through winter and give you something to read on the less favourable days of summer too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it sure was as it’s been a long wait to see one. I’m the same with good books. As I read other books as well, and less over the spring and summer, I’m hoping that this series will keep me going into next winter. xx

  2. Liz says:

    Very exciting to see the goldfinch. There is a large patch of teasels beside a path at the local park where I walk my dogs. I haven’t seen goldfinches there yet.
    The weather is like a yo-yo here, single digits one day, 50sF the next.
    I do agree about discovering a good series and author to read. Enjoy!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it really was. Fingers crossed that you get to see some on those teasels.
      I hope that you get better,more settled weather soon. Good for you. Thanks. xx

  3. elaine says:

    Do you know we have hardly seen any goldfinches this winter – I wonder if it because it hasn’t been such a hard winter. I do miss seeing them in the garden – such colourful little birds.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine that’s a shame as they’re such lovely looking birds. You could well be right. I’m sure you do so I hope some appear again soon. xx
      (I’ve edited your comment and deleted the second one)

  4. menhir1 says:

    A guy we know has a burgeoning bookcase, filled baskets and piles on the floor, all of war books. This, he says, is all in the name of researching the august military career/history of an erstwhile ancestor. I gained the impression, one perspective led onto another one, rather than following a trail of fact-finding and substantiating facts, insofar as one can. His reading seems to have developed into a broad spectrum literature analysis, as far as I could tell, around one person.

  5. Awesome update Mike thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  6. pianolearner says:

    I am reading ‘My cousin Rachel’ at the moment and thoroughly enjoying it.

  7. annie_h says:

    What a treat to see the Goldfinches feeding on the teasels, like Elaine I’ve not seen many around this year, I miss their twittering. They are such exotic looking birds.

  8. Temperatures here have been spring like but gray and rainy every day. I too have started to prune a bit so I can spend some time in the garden where it is ok to stand.

  9. How lovely to see a goldfinch. We did the RSPB birdwatch today but the results weren’t very impressive. I think there are too many cats in our neighbourhood for the birds’ liking.

  10. Julie says:

    I did the birdwatch yesterday you can see what I saw on my new post. We planted some teasels last year so looking forward to seeing if they flower this.. we have goldfinches visit so hopefully they’ll have teasels to enjoy too! xx

  11. CJ says:

    That’s a new writer to me, he sounds interesting. The biggest boy did the garden birdwatch on Saturday and was lucky enough to see a couple of long-tailed tits. They do pass by quite regularly, they’re one of my favourites. Lovely to be rewarded with a goldfinch on your teasels. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’ve read a couple of his other books as well. Good for him, and lucky you seeing a couple of delightful long-tailed tits. They’re one of mine too. It sure was, at long last. xx

  12. Thank you, Mike! I’m delighted that you enjoyed ‘We That are Left’. And you’ve reminded me to prune my own grape vine, which produced grapes for the first time last summer. It’s a Hampton Court cutting, so I’d got to the point of thinking it would never come to anything in a polytunnel halfway up a Welsh mountain. I’ve got cistus and daffodils in bloom at the moment – and I can’t wait for the real spring to arrive 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Juliet hello and welcome. Sadly my grapes came to nothing last year, let’s hope we both do well with them this year. It’s always good to see daffodils – and nor me. xx

  13. Joanne says:

    I’m lucky enough to have teasels by my sitting room window & an abundance of goldfinches, well a charm, which visit the feeders in the garden. I have spotted the occasional bird on a teasel. Enjoy your books x

  14. Such a treat to see a goldfinch actually eating the teasel seeds! Another plant I keep meaning to sow and never quite get around to. Maybe this year, they are lovely, and so good for wildlife.

  15. Glo says:

    How exciting to see a Goldfinch ~ shows how important it is to leave seeds for our feathered friends over winter. It sounds like you are well set up with books, and will have many hours of enjoyment from them. Thanks for the mention in a previous post. 🙂 I nearly gave up even attempting to post anything because of the frustration sometimes with my laptop. I really don’t want to get another one yet, so I’m doing the best I can with it. In the meantime, it is easy to read posts…it’s the commenting and posting that is the problem! Anyway, here we are in February already, and spring is on its way!!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure was, and I agree. I like to have plenty of books to read at this time of year. You’re welcome. Sorry to see that you’re having computer problems. We are indeed, and I do hope so. xx

  16. nikkipolani says:

    So nice to be at the start of a series you like! I’m sometimes reluctant to start new ones only because I’m too impatient to wait a year or more before the next arrives. The goldfinch image “wasn’t available” when I clicked, but I will check back!

Leave a Reply

