A daffodil, jigsaws and Birdwatch

On Monday morning I was surprised to see that this mini daffodil had flowered ahead of the first crocuses. This is something that I’ve never seen before.

First plot daffodil, Mon 25 Jan'16  Purple crocuses, Mon 25 Jan'16

I really could, and indeed should, have found out the painters of the two pictures that I’ve shown in recent posts.  Thanks to Sharon’s comprehensive comment I know now the allotment one in the Dig for Victory post is by Michael Herring, and Liz kindly emailed me to say that last Sunday’s shed picture in the It’s damp and dull… post is by Edward Hersey. Many thanks.  As they, and others, also pointed out both these pictures are available as jigsaws. I may well get these later in the year to do during next winter as I’ve always enjoyed doing them, although it’s been some years since I last did one.

This coming weekend is the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch which I’m looking forward to doing as usual.  It looks like the weather is going to be mostly cloudy, rainy and windy so I’d be surprised if I see more than the few usual birds that I generally see.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A daffodil, jigsaws and Birdwatch

  1. Blessing and a lovely update thank you for sharing Mike

  2. Allotmental says:

    Its certainly odd seeing spring flowers early and out of order! I think we’re still waiting for a winter!

  3. Jo says:

    I bought my first bunches of daffodils of the year today, not for myself though, I took them for my mum. I love those allotment pictures so I may look out for them as jigsaws too, though like you, it’s years since I’ve done one. I’m hoping to make time to join in the birdwatch this weekend, I shall make sure my feeders are topped up and hope all my regulars put in an appearance.

  4. menhir1 says:

    We’re icy and wet here. Lovely to see your blooms, though I share your surprise. What are the portents, I wonder?

    You should have great fun puzzling through next winter. xx

  5. Julie says:

    Hello Flighty.. catching up as been away from blog land for a while, explanation in new post. I’ve had narcissus in flower since before Christmas… madness. I’m doing the RSPB Big Birdwatch at the weekend too.. as usual they’ll probably all do a disappearing act in the hour that I choose then reappear as if by magic when I’ve finished..haha. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Julie hello, it’s nice to see you posting and commenting again. Lucky you, but it is crazy to see them. Well done. That’s what usually happens when I do it too. Fingers crossed that we both have a good birdwatch. Take care. xx

  6. Liz says:

    Your mini daffodil and crocuses are so pretty.
    It’s been years since I’ve done jigsaws too. We always had a card table set up with one “on the go”.
    Good luck with the bird watch!

  7. Chloris says:

    Thanks for finding out the artists’ names, they are lovely pictures.
    I have an albino great tit in the garden which I hope will put in an appearance this weekend.

  8. CJ says:

    Thanks for mentioning the artists of those brilliant pictures. I love the idea of them in jigsaw form. It’s worrying to see these signs of spring isn’t it. I saw a photo of a bluetit building a nest today. I do hope he stops for a while. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      Cj you’re welcome, and I do too. Yes I just hope that we don’t have a late winter and/or a poor spring. They like us, and plants, must be rather confused with the weather. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Good to know who the artists are, and that they are both jigsaws….I may get them for my MIL who is an avid jigsaw fan!
    I have mini daffs too, and have never had them before crocus, which is also out like yours and rather early!
    Enjoy the bird counting, hope the weather gods smile upon you.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I agree, on both counts. That sounds like a good idea.
      It’s rather disconcerting to see isn’t it.
      Thanks, it’s looks like being sunny tomorrow so I’ll do it then as there’s rain forecast for Sunday. xx

  10. Gorgeous photos, I am also amazed at what is blooming in my garden at this early part of the season…Good luck on the garden bird watch.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that golden daff is gorgeous — and even a bit of sunshine!

  12. helen carey says:

    We have one crocus and one daff out today!

  13. No daffodil flowers here yet, just leaves, but plenty of crocuses, snowdrops and mini iris to make me smile. I have recently become re-addicted to jigsaws, I find them a great way to relax, though my current one, a Van Gogh sunflowers painting, is proving extremely challenging… Hope you get some nice surprises during your birdwatch!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet they all sound lovely. Good for you, I think that I’m about to be as well. That sunflowers jigsaw sounds interesting. Thanks, I hope so too but not hopeful. xx

  14. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I was in the Cotswolds last weekend and saw daffodils out there too. It’s been a very strange winter.

  15. Shamini says:

    The daffodils are so early – mine are also looking set to flower before the crocuses. The birdwatch seemed to pass me by, but I am going to try to take photos of the green parrots we get here in South London in the next few days.

    • Flighty says:

      Shamini they certainly are, and it seems odd to see them out before the crocuses.
      The parakeets can be seen everywhere nowadays, I usually see, and hear, them flying over the allotments. xx

Leave a Reply

