It’s damp and dull…

here today so I’ll be spending much of it armchair gardening or sofa flying.

Here’s another allotment painting, this time showing the inside of a shed and the view through the door.

The shed

Once again I don’t know the artist, and it’s another picture that would make a good jig-saw if it isn’t already one.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to It’s damp and dull…

  1. You too! Another lovely nostalgic painting, I wonder who the artist is? You’re right, it is a jigsaw, one of my favourites too.

  2. Joanne says:

    I agree it would make a good jigsaw, keep warm x

  3. Mark Willis says:

    My Dad had one of those old “Push-me Pull-you” lawn-mowers. Crikey, they were hard work!

  4. elaine says:

    It is already a jigsaw – I’ve done it. Great picture – I still have one of those manual lawn mowers – it gives a lovely cut.

  5. Jo says:

    I love these pictures, I think they’re the pictures which spring to most people’s minds when allotments are mentioned. Enjoy your sofa flying, it’s damp and dull here too today.

  6. Liz says:

    I also remember the lawn mower. Imagine that the jigsaw takes a while to complete, but fun to do. Have a good week, Mike. We’ve over a foot of snow here, so still digging out.

  7. Alcea Rosea says:

    I use a hand mower at my allotment between plots and raised beds. It is very easy to use unless the grass is a bit too long and wet. It does not take long to wiz round.

  8. menhir1 says:

    I have a memory of a jig-saw not dissimilar to the picture. There are a range of them, countryside, gardening, farming, implements in sheds and barns. It is very warming. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir there are a few which look very similar. There are indeed, as I found when I started looking at jig-saw websites yesterday. It certainly is. xx

  9. CJ says:

    Another wonderful picture, I really love it. Armchair gardening and sofa flying are two of my favourite things. I hope you have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  10. yorkshireman says:

    My shed is like that, or it would be if I removed the 4 underbed drawers, a roll of carpet and a dozen metre long shelves I put there temporarily.

  11. Shamini says:

    Ooh, that is a lovely painting. Very warm.

  12. plot34 says:

    I have shed envy!

  13. karengimson says:

    Tidier than my potting shed. This year I plan to get really organised in there!

  14. Love the image, I grew up seeing the Norman Rockwell covers as they were published so it really stirs those memories.

  15. Liz says:

    Great picture! I’d like a shed like this one, I can almost smell the earthy, terracotta dusty smell – roll on summer!

  16. Chloris says:

    I love your shed picture. In fact looking at it has made me decide I really need a nice shed like that. I have tumble down stables full of cobwebs and rubbish but I would like a nice shed with windows and a potting bench. Lovely.

  17. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    The shed in the picture is positively tidy compared to mine at the moment!

  18. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, yes, this would make a very nice puzzle indeed. Lots of fun details and no gigantic swaths of a single color! I did one like that over the holidays and it became a matter of matching up shapes only. Ugh.

  19. snowbird says:

    What a marvelous looking shed….I think we all dream of having one like that. I have a shed….filled to the brim with coal and more. This would make a rather good puzzle. Hope you are ready for the winds and rain tomorrow, seems we have to batten down the hatches once again. xxx

  20. Definitely a great jigsaw candidate! I admit to being very fed up of all the dull, wet weather, though I am grateful not to have experienced floods.

  21. hencorner says:

    Yep, leave your shed door open and the hens will come wandering in…..
    Just shoo them out before they poo!

Leave a Reply

