A snowy morning

I woke up this morning to find that it had snowed during the night. Thankfully it was only a light covering and there’s no more forecast through to the end of the week at least.

The plot looked like this when I had a quick round on my way to the horticultural society trading shed.

Plot, Sun 17 Jan'16 - 1

Plot, Sun 17 Jan'16 - 2   Plot, Sun 17 Jan'16 - 3

Over at the trading shed I was pleased to see that the onion sets and seed potatoes were available so got all I wanted.

It was also a robin morning as I saw two out front at home whilst I was drinking a cup of tea, another one at the plot and much to my surprise there was also one inside the trading shed which was finally enticed outside thanks to some dried mealworms.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to A snowy morning

  1. What a lovely thought, time for chitting again! What spuds are you growing this year, do you always grow the same?

    • Flighty says:

      Gill I’m growing first early Red Duke of York for the second year running along with second earlies Charlotte (my favourite variety) and Kestrel and main crop Desiree all of which I grow every year. xx

  2. Liz says:

    I like that snowy scene. It looks like January!
    Glad you got your onion sets and seed potatoes. Does “trading shed” mean you barter or do you pay for your goods?
    The robins are out looking for something to eat and stay warm, I suppose.
    Stay warm too. . .

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it feels like it too.
      Thanks. We have to pay, but prices are low as the society is ‘non-profit’ making.
      Yes they are when the weather is like this.
      You too. xx

  3. VP says:

    No snow for us, but at least we’ve had a couple of sharp frosts so I feel much happier about how my garlic will grow later this year!

  4. pianolearner says:

    No snow at our house, but the mountains nearby did get a good covering. Which potatoes did you go for?

  5. CJ says:

    It does look nice with a light dusting of snow. How lovely to see four robins. They do like dried mealworms don’t they.
    Have a good week Flighty, and stay warm. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes I agree it does. It sure was. They certainly do and the ones at the trading shed are always treated to some.
      Thanks, and you too on both counts. xx

  6. Caro says:

    Thank goodness we’ll get at least a week of winter, it will help to restore the balance. I’ve seen a few bumble bees flying in recent weeks and my friend has centaurea flowering in her garden – at least there’s nectar for any bees that are awake! There was a touch of frost and snow here also this weekend which rather put paid to any gardening today.

  7. plot34 says:

    We had a sprinkling of snow. I walked the dog, did a quick check on the cuttings in the polytunnel then back home for indoor jobs.

  8. menhir says:

    Things looked much as such here, too. Cold as it might be, the snow does create a bit of sparkle, much needed just now. Seasonal weather has been slow in arriving.

    Loved the story of the Robin…so trusting of humans too. Mind, it could have known how to get a booster feed, the meal worms. Clever eh! xxx

  9. karengimson says:

    I’m thinking about potatoes already. I think I’ll go for Charlotte again as they were fab this year. Would like to try a new early one, might try Swift or similar. Your plot looking lovely in the snow, Mike. Have a great week.

  10. Chloris says:

    Charlotte are my favourite too. I can’ t believe it’ s chitting time already.

  11. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    What a lovely image – especially nice as there’s no snow where I am.

  12. I’ve been surprised by the number of robins I’ve seen this winter, I’m guessing it’s the result of such a mild winter.

  13. Awesome update Mike thank you for sharing. I’ll be planting my small spuds Majestic and the year before I moved I had Swift and still have some of them so will be planting them. Might try using some of my home made compost. Have a blessed day

  14. Joanne says:

    It looks lovely with a dusting of snow, I desperately need some snow to cover the sins of my garden! I shall pop to the garden centre soon for my seed potatoes – definitely Charlotte, Pink Fir Apple & a third. I shall know when I see it. Have a good week & stay warm x

  15. homeslip says:

    Thank you for the reminder to buy my potatoes. Charlotte are my favourite too and last year I didn’t buy her quickly enough and had to make do with Nicola, who was actually very good. Back in the day I used to put in nine long rows of potatoes, nowadays three rows keeps us in potatoes for about six months.

  16. snowbird says:

    Robins are certainly cheeky! I’m glad you got yours out of the shed, I have the same problem with one that insists on sitting in the hog house! Love your snow, it’s cold here but we haven’t had any yet. I do love to see a little of the white stuff…..I may have to live precariously through yours.How marvelous to have seed potatoes already….xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird they sure are. They’re always flitting in and out of the shed, especially if the double doors are open. Thankfully the snow here came and went the same day. I think that I was the first member to buy them on Sunday so plenty to choose from. xx

  17. Jo says:

    The allotment site looks lovely with a covering of snow, it’s time we had some cold weather to get rid of all the nasties. I noticed in Wilkinsons the other day that they’re selling some of their seed potatoes individually this year, pick and mix so that you can get a few different varieties to try. They didn’t have many Anyas left though so I didn’t get any, I’ll go back and see if they’ve restocked soon. Lovely to see so many robins about, glad the one in the trading shed was coaxed outside.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it does but I’m glad that it didn’t linger, and I agree about the cold weather.
      Selling them like that is a good idea and I hope that you get the varieties that you want.
      It sure is, and so was I. xx

  18. Liz says:

    I love how there is still colour on the plot, even when covered in a sprinkling of snow. The contrast of rich reddy browns and almost black stems and twigs against the white is very dramatic.
    Liz

  19. annie_h says:

    We had some snow here for a couple of days too, nice to see it going a bit colder. Cheeky robin, they have such personalities don’t they! Must start thinking about which potato varieties I’d like to grow this year, but like you it will definitely include Charlotte.

Leave a Reply

