Dig for Victory

Here’s a wonderful nostalgic allotments picture.  Note the famous Dig for Victory poster on the shed door and the steam train.

Dig for victoryThe weather is very cold with it feeling around zero at best.  It looks like staying that way, but mostly dry with some sunshine, into next week.

Keep warm and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Dig for Victory

  1. Liz says:

    Oh what a delightful picture! I wish our fruit and veg patch looked this organised, sadly it’s still just a paddock with some canes in it to mark the boundaries of the veg area and the fruit area. If the ground warms up at all this week, I’ll get some of the new hedge planted. I hope you manage to stay warm and dry this week. Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it sure is. I’m sure your patch will start to look organised before too long. Looks like staying cold here so I think that your new hedge planting might be delayed. thanks, and you too. xx

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day stay safe and warm

  3. Caro says:

    Such a lovely nostalgic picture, Flighty; what a pity those days seem to be behind us, although there’s a steam train that occasionally runs along the track bordering the flats where I live. I was in high hopes of a bit of gardening today when I saw the sun coming up at 8.30 but it’s since rained. I’ve got digging to do so the cold won’t bother me but I dislike the amount of clay mud that comes home with me on my wellies! Here’s hoping for some dry weather over the weekend, hope it’s a good one for you!
    Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it certainly is, and I agree. I hope that you get some digging done, my plot is either frozen or soggy at present. It looks like being dry but very cold.
      Thanks, and yours too. xx

  4. Joanne says:

    That’s a nostalgic look back Mike, a lovely picture – hard times though! Have a good weekend xx

  5. karengimson says:

    Reminds me of my Grandfather’s garden. Many happy hours spent with him, growing veg for the family. I don’t think they ever bought anything, fruit and veg wise. Thanks for sharing. Hope the weather’s good for you. Rather perishing here. x

  6. Liz says:

    The detail in the picture is extraordinary. A Victory garden.
    Keep warm!

  7. Lovely picture – it would make a great jigsaw puzzle.

  8. Chloris says:

    I love pictures of allotments, this is such a lovely one. Who is it by, do you know?

  9. Alcea Rosea says:

    This is a lovely jigsaw puzzle, I found it slightly trickier than I first anticipated but a great sense of achievement when I’d finished it. My allotment is not so artistic.

  10. Alison says:

    That poster is really beautiful. Love the details. Keep warm.xx

  11. CJ says:

    What a lovely picture, I do so like to see allotments featured in paintings. CJ xx

  12. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    What a great picture, Flighty. I love the old rhubarb forcer.

  13. menhir1 says:

    Isn’t it a super detailed idealised scene, with the train running in the bacground. I knew some allotments in N.W London that were alongside a rail track….it makes you wonder if the artist was there.

    Winter temperatures, ice and snow, seem to have arrived far and wide. Keep snug. Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it certainly is. There were lots of allotments alongside rail tracks in London so may well have been.
      No snow here but really cold. Thanks, and you too. xx

      • Liz says:

        Reading this reminded me of “One Man and his Plot” by Michael Leapman when he was applying for an allotment in London (in the 1960s, I think). One avenue of enquiry was British Rail, who had many plots at the time. If you go to Google and enter “Michael Leapman, One Man and his Plot British Rail” it will actually take you to that section of the book. It was published many years ago.

  14. I notice the ‘Dig for Victory’ poster pinned to the hut door but suspect that the picture was created later than the ’40’s and is a nostalgic backwards look at that period. I’ve got a rhubarb forcer like the one in the picture and it looks very nice and works well but only for a very small area of rhubarb root, the diameter of the pot just isn’t big enough for a large clump.
    Sunshine makes me want to be outside setting to work in the garden. We’ve done a bit of tree pruning this morning but, my, it’s cold out!!

    • Flighty says:

      Rosemary hello and welcome. I agree with you about the picture probably not being contemporary. That’s a good point about the rhubarb forcer.
      Me too but it was far too cold, and the ground frozen, here this morning when I looked round the allotments. xx

  15. nikkipolani says:

    How endlessly productive that picture is — every nook and cranny put to good use. Have a cozy weekend, Flighty. Wish I could ship Sammy to you for some feline company. She’d be only too glad to get away from Earthquake Country.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki during WW2 allotments and gardens had to be with year round growing and no flowers. Thanks, and you too. That’s a nice thought, and I’m sure that she would. xx

  16. homeslip says:

    You illustrate your blog with such delightful pictures Flighty. This one reminds me of some old black and white photos I have of my grandparents’ garden – a happy and productive place in NW London.

  17. Jo says:

    What a fabulous picture, I really like that. So much detail capturing what allotment life is all about. We had snow here last night, it hasn’t been forecast so we were really surprised when Mick opened the door to take Archie for a walk and there was already an inch or two which had settled.

  18. plot34 says:

    I think I have found the artist – or rather Google did!

    Michael Herring – Born in Hertfordshire in 1944, Michael grew up in post war Watford where there were still fields, woods, farms and rivers where he loved to be, along with visits to his grandparents who lived on a farm in Essex.

    Trained in the print industry and studied in life classes at Watford School of Art, he preferred wildlife and the countryside.

    Turning professional in 1985, turning his attention to dogs, childhood memories etc. In 1990 Michael moved to the Fens before moving back to his families roots in Norfolk.

    Sadly Michael passed away suddenly on 27th August 2010 aged only at 66 years.

    His work in now appreciated by collectors as his work appears on plates, mugs, clocks etc from Danbury Mint. Puzzles produced by Gibsons and The House of Puzzles.

    Found on this website: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2012/02/02/grow-your-own-painting-by-michael-herring/

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon many thanks for this comment , it’s much appreciated.
      I’ll be doing a follow-up post and will mention you, and fellow bloggers, who’ve done what I should have done. xx

Leave a Reply

