Tree Following, January 2016

As I mentioned in last month’s Tree Following post Liz and I will be following new trees this year.

Liz has almost decided to follow an amelanchier, a native American tree, that she has in her Lexington, Kentucky front garden.  It was given to her by a neighbour over twenty years ago when her mother died.

She says that she likes  the idea of trees that honour or remember people.

Oak tree Jan'16 - 1

 

I’m looking to follow this young oak tree growing on one of the allotment plots alongside the site road.

 

It’s between a Christmas tree and a buddleia as can be seen in the picture below.Allotment site road
See Squirrelbasket’s Tree Following post for details of what this is all about and for links to other bloggers Tree Following posts for this month.

Happy tree following!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tree Following, January 2016

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Liz says:

    The picture of the young oak beside the road indicates to me the size of the allotments. The area looks huge. Is that just the perspective from which you took the picture?
    I look forward to starting 2016 tree following in February, thanks both to you, Mike, and to Pat at Squirrlebasket.

  3. Joanne says:

    Both lovely trees to follow x

  4. Jo says:

    I look forward to hearing updates about both trees throughout the year.

  5. I hope that Liz chooses the amelanchier! I plan to follow one, but have to find it first (in the wild). They were common where I used to live, and I miss them.

    • Liz says:

      I’m lucky and just have to look out my front window to see the Amelanchier, so no excuse for me not to take pictures or write about it!

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Looking forward to both your observations as neither of these trees is on my regular circuit.

  7. Chloris says:

    Amelanchier is a good choice with spring and autumn interest. I see your oak still has its leaves. It’ s funny how some oaks hang on to their leaves in winter and some lose them.

  8. snowbird says:

    I too love plants and trees that honour a person or memory. I am looking forward to the trees you both decide to follow.xxx

  9. Excellent choices – and very different from each other! I will update your information on the tree-following list.
    I look forward to seeing both of the trees as they progress through the year.
    What a funny place to put an oak tree, though!
    All the best 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Pat hello and thanks. They are indeed.
      We do too, and look forward to reading about other peoples trees as well.
      It’s been left to grow from an acorn probably buried by a squirrel. xx

  10. Pingback: Tree following link box for January 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

  11. I am a huge believer in planting trees for those who have passed…It is such a wonderful way to honor their memory.

Leave a Reply

