Around the world again

Alison's card

On Friday I received a Happy New Year card from Alison in New Zealand. The colourful picture on the front is a tui bird, painted by NZ artist Irina Velman.

Charley and Liz's journal

Later that day I emailed Liz in Kentucky and mentioned that I’d received the card as back in November I’d arranged with Alison to send one of her hand-made journals to her. Liz replied and included this picture of Charley, one of her two dogs, along with the journal.

I also got a different one sent to rose lover Nikki in Southern California which you can see in this post.

Alison’s lovely journals, and more, can be seen in her Etsy shop Mettaville.

Nigella 'Mulberry Rose'Also in the post on Friday were some flower seeds that I had ordered from Chiltern Seeds earlier in the week after having looked through the 2016 catalogue.   I’m looking forward to seeing the nigella damasecena Mulberry Rose flowers as I’ve only ever had a handful of pink or rose ones appear among the blue or white flowers.

I looked round the plot last Monday following a wet weekend  and wasn’t surprised to find it very soggy, but thankfully not waterlogged like some of the others.  I found that plot neighbour John had been doing some tree pruning and he was happy for me to help myself to some logs to add to my stockpile for when I redo the area as I mentioned recently.  I’ll be taking another look round this morning then going across the road to the horticultural society trading shed to renew my membership, and check when the onion sets and seed potatoes will be available.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Around the world again

  1. Liz says:

    What fun to start getting those seed packets and nice to get those New Year greetings.
    Charley is so chuffed to be featured in your post. He is not at all reserved about being prominently featured, unlike his sister, Dulcie, who is so shy and retiring!
    The start of a week of Arctic blasts here when we were wondering when winter would arrive.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz yes indeed fun and nice.
      It’s a really delightful picture of Charlie which I couldn’t resist sharing and showing here. He certainly looks most contented.
      It’s the same here with it looking like being a chilly, wintry week here as well. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I still marvel at how small the world has become since the internet came about. Those journals are lovely, I’m a sucker for nice stationery. Charley is so cute, he doesn’t look to have any problem in relaxing.

  3. Carrie says:

    First blog I’ve read in months and it had to be yours, lovely Mike xxx Let’s hope the weather changes soon and we can get cracking on our plots x

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  5. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, Those cards are beautiful and a lovely way to start the year. I really need to knuckle down and sort my seed order out. It’s raining again here so perhaps I’ll do it later on today. I grew ‘Mulberry Rose’ last year and it was very pretty, I just wish they lasted a bit longer, I’m never very good at remembering to succession sow. Hope this rain stops soon. Have a good week. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ hello, I agree on both counts. That sounds like a good idea to me. It’s good to find someone who has grown these. I’m just the same. Me too, but it’s another damp and dull day here. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. elaine says:

    Isn’t it wonderful how the Internet and blogging has brought us all together.

  7. CJ says:

    Glad your plot isn’t waterlogged. I haven’t seen mine for a while. It’s at the bottom of a slope with a stream behind it so I’m guessing it will be fairly wet there! How nice that your seeds have arrived. Mine are apparently with the allotment society seed secretary – should be here soon. CJ xx

  8. Alison says:

    Thank you so much for the mention Mike. I love the Tui bird and have seen some enjoying the flax flower nectar in the garden. Glad that Liz received her journal and Charley is helping out in filling the pages with some good stories perhaps? Hope the soggy day is brightened up by the joy of planning where to plant the seeds. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Alison you’re most welcome. Lucky you seeing them like that. Liz said that Charlie was dreaming of journal, which he sure looks like doing. I’ve been plenty of plot planning. xx

    • Liz says:

      Alison, as you can see your journal is being admired. You do such lovely bookbinding that it is an art as much as a craft. I look forward (as does His Nibs) to recording our thoughts. Liz

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How fun that you’ve got connections all around the world! Isn’t blogging fun that way? That painted bird card looks quite lovely. I love the vivid colors.

  10. Joanne says:

    My garden is a little spongy (worryingly the asparagus patch) but not waterlogged. A lovely selection of cards & seeds xx

  11. snowbird says:

    How smashin’ to have so many friends from across the globe….blogging can be mighty fine for sure. I love Charlie, bless! Good news re those logs and your plot not being waterlogged…..here’s to a dryer spell.xxx

  12. The world has changed so much from the town where I grew up with just over 100 people in our community. Communicating with distant relatives at that time meant sending a letter because calling was too expensive and they typically lived no more than 25 miles away. The only people in our town who had traveled had gone to Europe or the Pacific during WW II. I now talk to people all over the world everyday, texting them, or sending e-mails on birthdays, anniversary’s, and holidays.

Leave a Reply

