Christmas delights

I enjoyed a quiet and relaxing Christmas, which is generally not a good time of year for me. The past few years Nikki has kindly sent me a tree which she did again this year.  In fact she sent six! Her card, just three inches tall, was one and can be seen at the top of this picture. The other five I hung from the mantelshelf where they gently swayed from the heat of the fire.

Anne's Christmas trees Dec'15

She also sent me two packets of flower seeds – cosmos sulphureus Bright Lights Blend and scabiosa caucasica Isaac House Blend  – which I look forward to seeing in flower.

Chocolate watering can - 1Liz over in Kentucky sent me some delicious fancy garden tool shaped chocolates including this watering can.   She also sent me this lovely small melamine tray which shows a Chickadee and a pair of Northern Cardinals.

Liz's bird tray

Glo (Porclain Rose) sent me the Jacquie Lawson Victorian advent calender which was great fun, as well as being interesting and informative. I also received a lovely handmade card from her.

My thanks for all these Christmas delights, and to everyone else who sent me a card/ecard.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Christmas delights

  1. Liz says:

    What a lovely selection of gifts. Isn’t it nice when our friends know us well enough to select appropriately themed presents? I think the gardening tool shaped chocolates were particularly nice, although they wouldn’t last very long on our household. Happy New Year!

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  3. Jo says:

    How lovely, you received some very thoughtful gifts from your bloggy friends. I particularly like that beautiful tray showing the little chickadee and cardinals.

  4. Liz says:

    Those Christmas trees are charming. I remember that Nikki sent you an origami one, was that last year?
    You and I talked via email about cardinals and it was such a coincidence that several of them visited my back garden a couple of days later and I was able to get a photo!
    We’re now past Twelfth Night and the days are getting longer. Not long ’til spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they sure are. I think that the origami ones were a few years ago.
      We did indeed, and I enjoyed reading up about them on the webpage that I linked to.
      I think that puts us gardeners in a better frame of mind when they start getting longer again. I hope not. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Delighted to add to your delights. :).

    The Advent calendar, which I posted About, seemed to include much more interactive content than the very first one I had. It is very clever. How long did the puzzle take you to complete with the maximum number of pieces (I assume)? I have kept the link to it, just in case I have missed anything, or, find time to re-try one of the games….. ❗

    Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. Yes the advent calenders have got more involved. I really don’t remember how long it took me but I think it was longer than you. Have fun if you do. xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    P.S many thanks for your e-card. I enjoyed it muchly. Xxx

  7. Joanne says:

    Lovely selection of gifts Mike xx

  8. CJ says:

    What lovely Christmas gifts, perfect for you I think! CJ xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Nice to see you’ve had a cherry Christmas season with things to enjoy now and the future 😉 Garden-themed chocolates — where did she find those?! I’m very impressed.

  10. snowbird says:

    Well now, what a marvellous selection! I’m glad to hear you had a relaxing time of it all, I’m not terribly fond of Christmas either.xxx

Leave a Reply

