A good week

At the front of the flats is a narrow strip of garden that is full of shrubs and trees where I often see robins, chaffinches, blue tits and blackbirds.  On Monday morning I got a really good look at a goldcrest which was perched on the branch of a nearby shrub.  It’s a bird that I’ve never seen before, and according to my Birds in Your Garden book it’s the tiniest resident British bird.

This morning I was walking to the local shopping centre when I heard the familiar cheep cheeping of some house sparrows and looking up at the roof guttering of a house could see a handful of them.  Sadly they’re a bird I rarely see nowadays so it was good to see these.

On Tuesday morning I was back at the hospital for a post-operation check-up. My appointment was for 10.30 am but I didn’t see the doctor until an hour later.  During that time I sat in the waiting area watching a constant stream of people coming and going keeping the three receptionists busy.  When I got to see the doctor he asked if I’d had any problems since the operation, had a quick look and gentle prod at my abdomen, said all was okay and wished me a Merry Christmas. All of which took less than five minutes.

There’s been little, or no, sunshine here during the week but today is dry and mild. Hopefully I’ll be able to do some tidying up, and weeding round, the raspberry patch tomorrow morning.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A good week

  1. Jo says:

    I’m always thrilled when I see a bird I’ve never seen before. How lovely to see a goldcrest, that’s one that I’m still looking out for. We used to get bullfinches in my mum and dad’s garden when I was young but I’d never seen one in my own garden until earlier this year. It came on two consecutive days but I haven’t seen it since. Glad to hear that your post op check up went well, isn’t that always the case though, you wait for ages and then when you finally get seen you’re in and out in no time.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too as it happens so rarely. I’ve never seen any bullfinches, and I hope that you get to see yours again.
      Thanks, it is but I didn’t really mind the wait as it was clearly really hectic. xx

  2. CJ says:

    So glad the check-up went well. I saw my first goldcrests this year, they’re so tiny, but we’ve been seeing them at the wetlands place lately. The biggest boy points them out to me, otherwise I don’t think I’d notice them. He managed to get a lovely picture of one showing it’s little gold head stripe. It sounds as though you get a good selection of birds visiting. All the food on our bird table seems to be cleared by one blackbird, I was hoping for more variety! CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. Lucky you, they are wonderful looking tiny birds. I do, and must get back in the habit of looking out for them all more often. That sounds like a greedy blackbird. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    What a happy post. Congratulations on your super recovery Mr F! Loved your description of the birds. We were talking about the abundance of Sparrows and Dunnocks we see. It’s good that the birds are finding other climes in the UK and not just disappearing. Happy Xmas and a wonderful 2016 to you. I am looking forward to many more communications during next year. Hugs xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks, on both counts. Lucky you, and I see regularly see dunnocks out front. yes I agree. Thanks again, and to you too. That’s nice to know, and I’m sure there will be. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Hey, this is sounding almost like Five Faves ;-)! It’s good to know you got to see some local birds and, of course, excellent update on your very brief doctor visit.

  5. Liz says:

    You could start your bird count already! There were a number of robins along the trails when I walked my dogs this morning. The American robins are as ubiquitous as English robins, but not nearly as colorful. Glad for your good checkup news.

  6. Great to see all the birds in the garden. We, here in Cork have loads of sparrows all year round. This year is the first I have seen so many tits and finches around, so lovely to watch them all. Glad you have got the all clear from the doc, and wishing you a great week. Happy Christmas, Flighty x

  7. Glad you are in the pink Flighty. Sadly I found a deceased gold crest, in our porch. A victim of the cat.

  8. elaine says:

    Glad to hear all is well after your check up. We rarely see Goldcrests here but have plenty of sparrows to make up for it.

  9. snowbird says:

    I’m delighted to hear you have the all clear! Now you can relax over Christmas. We had a goldcrest chick at the rescue this year, it had no feathers and needed hand-feeding, it was a job and a half getting food in that tiny beak, I was terrified of choking it. How lovely that you got to see one, and sparrows too. xxx

Leave a Reply

