It was surprisingly mild…

and still blowy, but dry,  this morning when I took a look round the plot to make sure all was okay, which thankfully  it was.

Poached egg plants around the dustbin lid pond

One of the first annuals to flower next spring will be the poached egg plants (limnanthes douglasii) which grow all round the dustbin lid pond.  These are all self-seeded plants which are already a few inches tall.

 

Collomia grandiflora

 

The collomia grandiflora plants are also doing well. The only problem being that they’re several feet away on the neighbouring plot!  I will be transplanting them before Brian starts to dig his plot over in the early spring and digs them up as weeds.

 

 

california poppy

 

Back on my plot there are plenty of California poppies (eschscholzia californica) growing in the right place. I will also be sowing  more seeds in the spring , including the white variety Alba.

 

 

Teasel

I always let a few teasels (dipsacus fullonum) grow around the log pile area which is the ideal place.  Any others that have appeared I will dig up.   As well as being impressive looking plants during the summer and winter I always hope to see goldfinches on them one day feeding on the seeds.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It was surprisingly mild…

  1. Liz says:

    It’s quite extraordinary to see so much green in early December. I saw on the news this morning that Cumbria has had terrible flooding. Was the south-east experiencing some of that too?
    Have you had goldfinches visit the teasels before?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it certainly is. It’s been helped by a mild November, the third warmest on record. Thankfully the south-east was okay it’s the north-west that’s been badly affected.
      I’ve never seen any on my teasels but have on ones on other plots. I think they wait until I’ve gone home to visit mine. xx

  2. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update Mike thank you for sharing and have a blessed day

  3. Jo says:

    The pond looks lovely with the poached egg plants growing all around it, it’s a great environment for all the wildlife which visits the pond too. Thank goodness the weather’s settled down now, we’ve had a very windy weekend and part of my greenhouse has gone missing, I’m sure it will turn up.

  4. CJ says:

    Self-seeded plants are a joy aren’t they. I’ve got a couple of what I think (and hope) are foxgloves coming up. Fingers crossed! The poached egg plants round the pond look really pretty. Nice to see so much green! Wishing you a good week. CJ xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Though no longer mild here, we have had a few frosts plus wind levels of all kinds, I have found a couple of valiant Calendula plants, which I must have missed when clearing them. both have green leaves and each has a small but perfectly formed flower head.

    Self-seeding repeats will, no doubt, appear next year, however, I really do hope that they arrive near enough when expected. Everything was just so late this year.

    Sad state of affairs with the flooding in Southern Scotland and Cumbria, Mr F.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir lucky you with the pot marigolds as all mine succumbed to the frost, rain and wind.
      Everything was late here as well thanks to a cold spring. Let’s hope that next year will be better.
      It certainly is. xx

  6. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I like teasels too – they look nice dried and arranged in a vase as well.

  7. snowbird says:

    It’s good to see you have healthy plants coming up. It is still quite mild but has been horribly windy and wet. Glad to hear all is well at the allottment.xxx

  8. Joanne says:

    I have a teasel by my sitting room window & had bees on the flowers in the summer & we have had a goldfinch or two looking for seed last month. I like teasels I always make sure I have a couple. I do struggle with poached egg plants though – mine always come up yellow! Have a good week x

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet that little pond looks. How do your white Calif poppies do for you? They seem to reseed with great reluctance here.

Leave a Reply

