A good morning

Bonus potatoes

It was damp and dull early on but the sun had appeared by nine o’clock so I spent a couple of hours on the plot. The ground was soggy but I decided to dig  where the frosted potato foliage  was to see what I could find.   It was worth doing as I dug up the best part of a week’s worth of Red Duke of York and Charlotte potatoes.

 

 

Robin on a fennel stem

 

 

I wasn’t surprised to see the robin appear as I was doing that.  Here it is perched on a nearby fennel stem.  It’s getting ever bolder and several times it was little more than arm’s length away.

 

 

 

Frosted nasturtiums

 

I then cleared away all the frosted, and now mushy, nasturtium foliage which I added to the compost heap. As I hand-forked over the areas I noticed plenty of seeds lying on the ground  some of which should germinate and grow to provide another good show next year.

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A good morning

  1. Mark Willis says:

    I’m surprised to see that you have Charlotte and Red DoY potatoes in November – they are usually grown as Second Earlies. Are they your second planting of the year?

    • Flighty says:

      Mark no I missed some when I lifted them in July/August and foliage appeared since which I left until it got frosted last weekend. Always miss a few but they don’t usually appear to the following year.

  2. menhir1 says:

    Ooh great crop – excellent specimens. What kind of Fennel do you have?
    Isn’t it unusual for Robins to be as trusting as this one appears to be? xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks, I’m well pleased with what I found. It’s common fennel which is an impressive plant, especially when in flower. No, not really as some really are very bold and trusting. xx

  3. Joanne says:

    Great harvest, we haven’t had a harsh enough frost to do any damage yet. I must have a rummage through my tubs for some potatoes though I think it will be a weekend job. Hope you have a good one x

  4. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    What a lovely bonus potato crop. A good morning indeed!

  5. Jo says:

    I’m sure those potatoes will be a very welcome addition to your meals this week, it’s always a bonus finding a few you’ve missed on the first dig. Lovely to see your robin again. The birds are flocking to my feeders at the moment, I suppose it’s because of the cold weather, they’ll be making sure they get a good fill.

  6. snowbird says:

    What a wonderful find! I must go and dig too! I just love how tame robins are, yours will be sitting on your spade soon. You’ll have to buy it some dried mealworm, you’ll literally have it eating out of your hand in a week.xxx

  7. CJ says:

    A fantastic haul of potatoes, and they look pretty flawless, well done you. Nice to see the robin again, and I’m glad you managed some time at the plot. I planned to go today, but it was a bit too wet in the end this morning. CJ xx

  8. Liz says:

    That potato haul was worth the digging. They look wonderful. Your nasturtium remnants look like mine. Cute robin redbreast for company again.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    A great day, then, with healthy beautiful potatoes to haul home and pre-nasturtiums all ready for the new season.

  10. Doris says:

    I love that little Robin! I wish we had them in Canada.

  11. elaine says:

    No matter how thorough we a re when digging potatoes there are always a few that escape – well done finding so many.

Leave a Reply

