I wasn’t surprised…

to find that the plot was looking rather forlorn this morning following  rain/sleet and strong winds yesterday morning and the first hard frost last night. The water in the pond was frozen and various plants had flopped.

Robin by the sweet corn stems

 

As with my past few visits no sooner had I arrived and the robin appeared, and is now coming quite close at times.  Here it is finding insects around the sweet corn stems.

 

 

It looks like being a mostly dry, and thankfully warmer, week so I’m hoping to have a dig around where the potatoes Red Duke Of York are to see what I find.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I wasn’t surprised…

  1. menhir1 says:

    What a cute picture!
    Sounds like weather conditions were similar north and south, with plants reacting likewise. Good luck with the potato investigations.

  2. I hope your weather predictions are right, I really need a good week next week, work work work then play play play! Good luck with your treasure hunting 🙂

  3. Caro says:

    I’m also hoping that your weather predictions come true as I have a lot of work to do in the garden, replacing raised beds that have started to rot. I haven’t been to the garden this morning but a hard frost may well have finished off my nasturtiums. I’m off to have a check now! Lovely to have the company of your little robin; I’ve noticed lots of very tame blue tits when I’m digging. I must remember to put out some fat balls for the birds.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro fingers crossed, it sounds like you’ve a busy week ahead. I’d be surprised if your nasturtiums have survived, mine haven’t. It sure is, and lucky you with the blue tits. Good for you. xx

  4. Thank you might for a lovely update this morning Mike have a blessing of a week

  5. Bet s/he was hoping you were going to do some digging

  6. Liz says:

    Love your robin friend. Hope the warmer weather forecast comes to pass and you can dig for potatoes.

  7. Jo says:

    It’s no wonder that the plot was looking forlorn, what an awful few days we’ve had with the colder temperatures, high winds and snow. I’m pleased to hear that it’s going to get a little warmer again. It’s always lovely to have the company of a robin. Hope you find lots of potatoes.

  8. CJ says:

    Lovely photo. There was a hint of frost here this morning as well, I need to get down to the plot and do some tidying. CJ xx

  9. elaine says:

    We had a little snow and a frost so that has put paid to anything that was left flowering – hopefully if it gets a little warmer I should be able to do a bit of clearing up next week.

  10. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Let us know how the Red Duke of York turn out; I’m thinking of growing them next year.

  11. Joanne says:

    It’s cold & wet here & we had our first frost yesterday. I hope you find some potatoes Mike, stay warm & have a good week x

  12. snowbird says:

    Robins truly are the gardener’s friend aren’t they, so easy to tame too. Oh….good luck on the spud hunt!xxx

  13. wellywoman says:

    The frost caught me by surprise. I’d been away so hadn’t seen the forecast. A dry spell this weekend would be nice so I can tackle all the jobs I need to do. Lovely shot of the robin. Hope you managed to find some spuds. I grew Red Duke of York this year. It was very tasty but not very prolific. I’ll probably give it another go next year because it was so tasty. Hope you have a good week. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I agree about having a dry weekend. I have looked yet for the potatoes, hopefully tomorrow. First earlies are never that prolific. I’ll be growing them again next year. Thanks, you. xx

Leave a Reply

