Next year’s vegetable seeds

The week before last I ordered all my next year’s vegetable seeds from MoreVeg.  I always buy from them as they do small quantities at reasonable prices.  I’ll be mostly growing what I usually do, but hoping to grow less but better.

I’ll be growing some climbing French bean Cobra rather than the dwarf ones, and on the windowsill at home I’ll be trying a couple of pots of tomato Tiny Tim.

Hopefully the broad beans Karmazyn won’t succumb to blackfly as they did this year, and the carrots Royal Chantenay will surprise me and do well.

I was in two minds about growing some beetroot but I will and have bought the variety Babybeat which only grow to around golf ball size,  ideal for cooking and eating.

After I’d ordered these seeds and decided that I would grow more red onions than I have previously I found that the horticultural society trading shed won’t be selling onion sets Red Baron.  What I’ll do instead is buy a packet of onion Red Brunswick seeds to sow direct and see how they do.  If they don’t germinate I’ll plant some more white onion Sturon sets, which I also grow and are my usual choice.

I’ll be ordering my flower seeds in the new year once I’ve received and looked through the Chiltern Seeds 2016 catalogue.  One item I’ll be ordering is cosmos bipinnatus Velouette which I really like the look of, and should go well with the white ones.

First signs of daffodilsIt’s been been unsettled weather with plenty of rain, and windy at times, but still noticeably mild so I wasn’t that surprised to see that these daffodil leaves have  appeared when I looked round this morning.

Have a good week!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Next year’s vegetable seeds

  1. Jo says:

    Those cosmos are a gorgeous colour, I look forward to seeing those on your blog next year. It’s the ideal time to sit and work out what you want to grow next year with the weather being as it’s been, it’s very wet here today but at least it’s stopped raining. Hope your recovery is going well.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    I haven’t ordered any seeds for next year yet. I usually like to spend time doing this during the Christmas holiday. I’ll certainly be reverting to growing Cobra beans. This year I didn’t have any, and that was a mistake!

  3. Liz says:

    You are certainly well organized and the vegetables sound yummy. Now to the flowers!

  4. menhir1 says:

    A friend gave me some Welsh onions. They are a curious breed and I have found they are very hardy and versatile. I have left them where they are to see what they do next year. I think they will require a little bit of control if they re-appear and flourish, though not immediately.

    Other onions and the Welsh ones were healthy. A number of the other onions have been harvested and plaited for over-winter use. We had a few red ones which were good to use. The round carrots we planted, (meant to be little balls, some grew into tennis balls) were very tasty. Very few were inedible, the few that were, became so, because we left them in the ground too long. Others thrived on being left! We think, though we cannot prove it, that the carrots were okay because they had protection from disease which was offered by the proximity of the onions.

    Have fun with next year’s crop it sounds good and interesting. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it sounds like you did well with the various onions.
      As indeed you did with the carrots as well. Growing them by onions is recommended to keep carrot fly at bay.
      Thanks, I hope I will. xx

  5. I do like Cobra french beans. I’ve tried a few different green french bean varieties but I’ve always found them to be the most consistent and one of the tastiest varieties.

  6. After having most of my tall trees taken down around my garden, it has opened up the skyline and brought more light into it. My garden has been in the shade too long so hopeful it will grow much better in the new year. I dug plenty of horse manure into my veggie garden this year to improve the soil for next so I’m hoping to improve my yields. I look forward to following your plot in the new year.

  7. CJ says:

    Daffodils! I did my seed order last night as the deadline was today. I bought from Dobies through the allotment association as there’s a one-third discount. I didn’t need a vast amount of things as I already seem to have a vast amount of things in my seed box. I’m not sure if I’ll grow broad beans next year. I love them, but they don’t really seem to do particularly well for me. We shall see. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ Yes! Good for you, discounts like that make being an allotment association member worthwhile. Shame that you don’t have much luck with broad beans. xx

  8. I am trying to expand my efforts as a veggie farmer next year so your tips and bits of sage advice are really appreciated.

  9. Caro says:

    I abandoned dwarf beans in favour of climbing beans this past year so that I could free up more space. I grew a couple of heritage beans (Veitch’s climbing was v good) but I’m interested to read that Cobra seems a popular choice. Thanks for bringing babybeet to my attention; I prefer beets golfball size so will look out for those – and, yes, there’s bulbs popping up here as well, daffodils and snowdrops!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m going back to climbing ones as the dwarf ones didn’t fare too well last year. Cobra is a highly rated variety. Good for you re the beetroot. I’m not surprised that you’ve also got bulbs showing. xx

  10. Chloris says:

    You are well organised with your seeds. Interested to read about Cobra, maybe I will give that one a try.

  11. Awesome post. I still have a lot of seeds so do not plan to buy any for next season. have a blessing of a week.

  12. snowbird says:

    Your header is pretty!
    I haven’t had much luck with beetroot over the last few years, and never seem to do well with onions….sighs…
    I do like your selection, less is more. It’s the perfect time for sifting through the seed catalogs.xxx

  13. elaine says:

    I need to check out what I have left in my seed box from last year before I start thinking about ordering seeds for next year – looking through seed catalogues is always a delightful winter pastime.

  14. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Oh, I couldn’t be without beetroot! It’s so much fun eating food of such a spectacular colour 🙂

  15. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, how good to be imagining next year’s crops and possibilities!

Leave a Reply

