A different outlook

By late yesterday morning the sun had appeared and it was a glorious autumnal day so I took a stroll to the plot.

Most noticeable was that during the past week the hawthorn has shed all  it’s colourful leaves.  The Twinkling Stars (aster Monte Cassino) are still living up to their name, and being enjoyed by the honey bees.

A bare hawthorn    Twinkling Stars (Aster 'Monte Cassino')

As I slowly went round it was with a different outlook in that I wasn’t thinking about what I would, under normal circumstances, be doing plotting wise during the coming week weather permitting. Instead, I was simply enjoying taking a good look at the flowers and foliage.  I even found a last handful of raspberries to eat.

Cosmos bipinnatus 'Gloria'

 

When I received Chiltern Seeds 2015 catalogue late last year there was a cosmos bipinnatus Gloria listed which I bought.  I sent some to Gloria (Porcelain Rose) and keep a few.  I was relieved when they did finally appear and flower. I’m even more pleased that they’re still flowering today.

Happy birthday Glo!

 

 

Have  a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A different outlook

  1. Beautiful Cosmos just keeps going, and brings the sense of summer right into autumn. Gloria is particularly lovely.

  2. Liz says:

    Gloria is a lovely cosmos, and still flowering for you! Twinkling stars is pretty too.

  3. Chloris says:

    What glorious weather we are having to hang around enjoying our plants. What a bonus these late blooms are. I use Chilterns too, there catalogue is such a good read.

  4. I am always surprised how the colors of autumn appear and how in such a brief period of time all the leaves can fall. I guess it is a reminder to watch closely to see the magic.

  5. Jo says:

    Things seem to change on a daily basis at this time of year, leaves changing colour and then dropping to the ground in, what seems like, a blink of an eye. How lovely to still have colour on the plot, it will have been a welcome sight for you. Happy birthday, Glo.

  6. CJ says:

    So glad you managed a trip to the plot, it was a glorious day of sunshine wasn’t it. The aster is lovely, I’m going to plant one next year I think because as you say the bees love them so much. I hope you’re on the mend Flighty. CJ xx

  7. Glo says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes (and link) accompanied by your Cosmos named after me (or was I named after it…??) 😉 It was very thoughtful of you to send me the seeds, and they did sprout up in a row…I must find the photo. I was very excited — a few of them were nibbled, so I shrouded them in netting. I don’t know what got in there, but they were cleaned right out. Something, (bird, rabbit??) had enjoyed a fresh tasty green salad. I am glad to see that yours finally grew, though. I have had a lovely birthday with lots of phone calls and emails wishing me the best. Tonight I will be treated by my sons to a dinner out 🙂 I am glad to know you enjoyed a most pleasant day meandering through your plot enjoying the day. Thanks again…:)

  8. elaine says:

    Nice to see you still have some colour on the plot. Hope you are feeling ok after your op.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    It is nice to have a stroll without any to-do-lists on your mind 😉 How lovely that a pretty and resilient cosmos has been named after Glo! And it sounds like she had a wonderful birthday with family and friends.

  10. snowbird says:

    It is lovely to just be able to observe the garden sometimes without having an endless list of thing to do. Smiling at Glo’s cosmos!xxx

  11. Caro says:

    Glad to read that you’re feeling better, Flighty and enjoying a stroll around the plot. I do like the look of your Aster and, like CJ, will try and track one down for the gardens here. It’s a comforting thought that such a pretty plant is keeping the bees happy and busy. Have a good week. Caro x

  12. alistair says:

    I really like the Cosmos, they continue flowering along with the Rudbeckias into November. Perhaps they clash, but who cares.

Leave a Reply

