An ordinary weekend

Twinkling Stars

Today is my birthday, an occasion that I don’t generally celebrate so it’ll be just another routine day and an ordinary weekend.

 

I’m pleased to see that the aster pringleii Monte Cassino is now flowering as it’s one of my favourites.  Each flower is only the size of a finger nail, and I call them Twinkling Stars.

 

 

Among the other plants still flowering I like these less common coloured nasturtiums.

Faded red nasturtiums     Deep orange-red nasturtium

I’m off to hospital early Monday morning to have my operation.  If all goes well I’ll be back home mid-week, and hopefully will be doing a Thursday post as usual.  I’ll also be catching up with any comments here and friends blogs.

Enjoy the weekend, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to An ordinary weekend

  1. Caro says:

    Happy birthday for today, Flighty – and many more to come, we hope! Very best wishes for your operation on Monday, hope it all goes well and you have a speedy recovery. Do nasturtiums cross pollinate to create new colours? The salmon coloured one is my favourite. I have some gorgeous colours in the patch here, although I’m after the seed of a stunning deep red nasturtium that I saw at the city farm last week and may bring back the cream ‘Milkmaid’ ones that I grew in previous years. Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks, on both counts. I don’t know if nasturtiums cross-pollinate. I like the deep red ones but all my seed is mixed up. There’s plenty of good choices that’s for sure. xx

  2. elaine says:

    Happy birthday dear Flighty – it seems to come round quicker every year. Good luck with your operation – hope all goes well for you. My nasturtiums are still going strong they have taken over one of the flower beds I have some deep claret ones which are my favourites.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks, on both counts. As you say birthdays do seem to come around much too quickly. It’s good to see the nasturtiums still doing so well. That sounds like a good colour. xx

  3. Lovely name for the aster. Happy Birthday!

  4. Chloris says:

    Happy Birthday Flighty! Have a lovely weekend. Twinkling Stars is a great name for this lovely late Aster. I love your nasturtiums. I have a bowl of them on my table at the moment. They light up the room. Good luck with the op.

  5. CJ says:

    Wishing you a very happy birthday, I hope you have a good day even if you’re not planning any celebrations. I hope the operation goes well on Monday, you have my best wishes for a speedy recovery. CJ xx

  6. Rose H says:

    Many happy returns of the day Flighty! Hope you have a wonderful day. Also sending very best wishes for a speedy recovery after your upcoming operation.
    Rose H xx

  7. Jo says:

    Happy Birthday, glad to see those Twinkling Stars have bloomed in time for the celebrations. All the very best for next week, I’m sure everything will run smoothly and wishing you a swift recovery.

  8. Charlotte says:

    Happy birthday, Mike! Have a lovely weekend and jolly good luck for Monday.

  9. Liz says:

    Happy Birthday, Mike! And, every good wish for a speedy recovery from your operation.
    We all seem to have nasturtiums in bloom right now. They do add colour to the fall garden.

  10. menhir1 says:

    Your flowers are not giving you an ‘ordinary weekend’ Mr F, they are bloomin’ lovely for you and your birthday!

    All the best for your op on Monday. Do not feel you have to rush back to your posting routine; we’ll be here when you are.

    Hugs and love, xxxx

  11. snowbird says:

    I hope all goes well and you are fighting fit soon! All the very best Flighty, hope you’ve had a good one! xxx

  12. Susie says:

    Happy birthday hope your op goes well. xxx

  13. glo says:

    I add my wishes for a very happy birthday and hope you are treating yourself to some extra chocolate digestives with your tea! It isn’t really an ordinary weekend at all, with your birthday and upcoming operation, but it sounds like you are taking it all in stride. Looking forward to know that all is well and that you are back sofa flying mid-week. Know that we are all thinking of you and sending bouquets of roses, nasturtiums, twinkly stars and lots of white flowers intermingled. ❤

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks. I’m saving the chocolate biscuits for when I get back home. You’re right of course it hasn’t really been an ordinary weekend. That’s nice to know and the flowers sound really lovely. xx

  14. Allotmental says:

    Happy birthday and good luck with the Op. Some blue asters for me look quite weedy esp in unkept gardens so i must get another colour☺

  15. Jan says:

    Those nasturtium flowers are lovely …
    Good luck with your op …
    Most importantly – Happy Birthday to you.
    All the best Jan

  16. Joanne says:

    Very many belated birthday wishes Mike, & I wish you well for Monday. I hope you are fit enough for blogging later on this week. Take care xx

  17. belated birthday wishes Mike hope the op goes well lovely post thanks for sharing

  18. Alison says:

    Happy belated birthday, thinking of you on this Tuesday (your Monday), hope all goes well with the op. xx

  19. Belated Happy Birthday Flighty, hope your op went well, look forward to your Thursday post, hopefully from home xx

  20. nikkipolani says:

    Well, you may not celebrate your birthday, but we bloggers do 😉 Glad you’ve had the operation and all is well. xo

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s true, and I’m grateful that you do. Thanks, I’m feeling much better today but I’ll be remaining in ‘lazy mode’ for at least a couple more weeks. xx

Leave a Reply

