This year and next year

I’m not going to dwell on this year except to say that my only complete failures were the nemophila Snowstorm which didn’t germinate and the broad beans which were blackfly infested.  As always some things did better than others but overall, despite it being a difficult growing season at times, it wasn’t too bad.

I intended to grow less better and do more successional planting/sowing, which I did to a certain extent and hopefully will do better next year.

I’ve already provisionally decided what I’m going to grow, both flowers and vegetables, and where. And of course being a gardener I’m ever optimistic that it will be a good year.

I will continue to do regular plot posts all about my efforts, however over the winter they’ll probably only be weekly, generally on Sundays, with the Thursday posts more likely to be off-plot ones.

Cosmos and pot marigolds

Have a good weekend!

[Please note that this coming weekend post will appear on Saturday rather than Sunday.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to This year and next year

  1. Thank you for sharing Mike lovely post and have a blessed weekend

  2. I need to do better on the successionaly sowing front next year – but I have to say, inspired by your good self, I have enjoyed the simplicity of sowing beans and peas direct! I think it was only the broad beans that I grew in modules this year, and I haven’t noticed much difference in terms of results, and all for less work! So thank you for that. Look forward to seeing your plans unfold next year.

  3. Liz says:

    What a pretty picture of cosmos and calendula! You are so well organized in your gardening planning and plotting, and the anticipation is almost as much fun as the results.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Clocks change this weekend, just to emphasise the changing season. Hibernation time! xx

  5. Jo says:

    That’s the great thing about gardening, no matter how the garden did this year, it’s a clean slate again next year. I just hope we don’t have such a cool spring, it held so many things back. Lovely photo of the flowers.

  6. VP says:

    There’s a definite sense of everything slowing down this week and I’d say many of the trees are at their peak colour. I definitely feel like hibernating this year! Have a great weekend and don’t forget, we get an extra hour in bed!

  7. CJ says:

    Ah yes, next year, it will always be a good year next year! I shall look forward to seeing how it all goes. CJ xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmm, a lovely “bouquet” right on your plot! Yes, a good review of the year’s successes and failures. Here’s to great germination and growth for next year! Are you going to try nemophila again?

  9. Joanne says:

    I completely agree with you Mike, we are cutting down to three beds next year & way less pots. Beans/peas in one, sprouting broccoli, spring cabbage,kale & the third – salad crops & a few roots. Planning for next year is always good isn’t it xx

  10. elaine says:

    Every year is different isn’t it. Some years one veg is good then not the next – the same with flowers, some years you have a really good show others they just don’t perform as well. But we gardeners have to be optimistic or we couldn’t carry on.

  11. snowbird says:

    This is always a good time to take stock and plan ahead. I’ve never known two years the same either.xxx

  12. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I think successional planting/sowing is on my New Year’s resolutions list every year and I’m gradually getting better at it, I think.

Leave a Reply

