Autumn pottering

Fungi

 

On the way to the plot this morning I noticed this large, bigger than a dinner plate, group of fungi on the wide grass verge alongside the road.

 

 

Raspberries

 

The blackberries have just about finished now but I did find this handful of raspberries to enjoy. Most of the bushes are summer fruiting but there are a couple of autumn ones among them.

 

Cosmos and hawthorn

 

 

The hawthorn leaves have now turned from green through brown, red and yellow and started to drop.

It’s seen here behind the still flowering cosmos and pot marigolds.  The Michaelmas daisies are over on the left.

 

 

Pink cosmos   Yellow pot marigold

It’s been a mostly cool, dry but dull weekend and the forecast for the next few days looks like more of the same.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Autumn pottering

  1. Jo says:

    I’m noticing more fungi around this year than I have before, I find them fascinating but don’t know very much about them. Can you believe I’m still harvesting blueberries? It’s amazing how much they’ve given this year, especially as it’s only from two plants, one of my three hasn’t given a harvest at all. Glad to see you’re getting some raspberries as I know they’re your favourite.

  2. Awesome update we have some fungi growing in our lawn not sure whether edible so leaving them along have a blessed weekend

  3. nikkipolani says:

    It’s a shame not all fungi are edible since they can be so prolific! How cheery those cosmos look in the foreground of the hawthorne waxing autumnal.

  4. Liz says:

    What a huge clump of fungi and a yummy handful of raspberries! And the cosmos and calendula still giving pleasure. Is the hawthorn on your plot?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz the size of it caught my eye. I had some more raspberries today. They are indeed. Yes, it wasn’t there when I took on the plot but has grown since. I keep it trimmed to keep in in bounds and a reasonable height. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Some of the leaves, which are ready to drop look so fiery and gorgeous. The fungi are interesting. The flora are the last of the summer wine. xxx

  6. CJ says:

    Cool and dull here too. The fungi is astonishing. Wishing you a good week of plotting. CJ xx

  7. snowbird says:

    That fungi looks interesting, I always plan on learning more about them, how lovely it would be to know which were edible! Yes, cool, misty and damp here too, yet we could do with rain.xxx

  8. Joanne says:

    I’ve not seen many fungi on my walks but have been admiring several lichen covered branches lately. Glad you got a few raspberries xx

  9. elaine says:

    I too found a big patch of similar fungi in the garden. My raspberries are summer fruiting but they are even yet producing the odd fruit.

  10. Extraordinary fungi! They clearly like the current weather conditions, like the others I have noticed more and more varied around this year.

Leave a Reply

