My 1000th post

With just over a week to go before I revert from plotting to armchair gardening and pottering I’ve now done all that I need, and indeed want, to do for this year.

Robin perched on the bamboo canes

 

A robin has been keeping me company all week, which has been a real pleasure to see and hear.

Yesterday it was perched on top of the bamboo canes that are stored beside the shed singing away whilst I dead-headed and tidied the pot marigolds that are still flowering profusely.

 

 

Orange pot marigoldΒ  Β Pale yellow pot margold

White cosmos

 

I was really pleased to see that another two white cosmos have appeared.

I’ve also been busy collecting various flower seeds which I’ll sort out over the coming months. Β For anything to do with seeds it’s well worth looking at the excellent website The Seed Site which I’ve found most useful.

 

 

This is my 1000th post here but I won’t bore you with the details. However I would like to thank everyone who has stopped by and especially to those of you who’ve commented.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend.

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to My 1000th post

  1. Congratulations! Here’s to the next 1000 πŸ™‚

  2. CJ says:

    1,000 posts, that’s fantastic! It’s always a treat to see a post from you, I do love a potter round your allotment. Off to my plot in a minute. So much to do before I can retreat to the sofa. CJ xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Congratulations on reaching the 1000 – a very significant milestone! I hope you’ve got some good books to read during the Winter months.

  4. Wow Flighty, happy 1000th post! I’ve just got my hands on a new bag of compost, so I will check out the seed site, I want to collect and sow lots of things before it gets too late. My cosmos are still blooming too, a really nice treat so late in the year.

  5. Chloris says:

    1000 posts, what an achievement! Congratulations.
    How wonderful to have everything done and dusted on your allotment. My garden is like the Forth bridge, I never catch up.
    Robins are the best of companions, they seem to be singing just for us as we work.

  6. Liz says:

    1,000 is a significant number of posts! Congratulations! When I looked at your first picture today, I thought you were doing a retrospective because you have a similar photo of a robin atop the bamboo stakes from some years ago. But this must be a favourite robin stopover!

  7. Congratulations on your 1000th post Flighty, it’s been a pleasure to follow your posts. Have a blessed day

  8. Charlotte says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post! That’s quite an achievement!

  9. Jo says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post, quite an achievement. I always enjoy stopping by and reading your posts, here’s to many more. My resident robin has put in an appearance this week, I was getting quite worried as I hadn’t seen him since spring but he’s back again. Glad you’ve got everything sorted out at the plot, that will be one thing off your mind before you’re back to armchair gardening and pottering.

  10. Harry says:

    I have just lost a long reply to you……into the ether, I presume, about how, long we have been in touch, since the early WordPress days. Am having a brief rest from gardening, after an altercation with my secateurs, and copious blood, but out again in the next few minutes, and expect to see more skeins of geese as they land at the Gadloch, just north of Glasgow…..and what a racket they make. Anyway, many thanks for the joy you bring to all of us, and I hope to see another 1000 epistles.

    • Flighty says:

      Harry how annoying, that happens to me sometimes as well. Ouch, I hope that you’re okay as secateurs can cause serious damage. The geese must be impressive to hear and see. Thanks.

  11. VP says:

    Congratulations Flighty – what a treat to hear about your robin in your 1,000th post πŸ™‚

  12. karengimson says:

    Congratulations on your milestone 1000th post. I always enjoy your photos and reports. I’ve got a little robin keeping me company in the potting shed at the moment, and a wren in the greenhouse at night. All the best, Flighty.

  13. Joanne says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post, I’m looking forward to a little armchair gardening myself x

  14. Wow! That’s quite a milestone. Congratulations. Love the paler marigold.

  15. Congratulations Flighty! keep on plotting…

  16. Doris Potter says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post!!

  17. elaine says:

    Congratulations – that is a helluva lot of posts.

  18. Caro says:

    Amazing achievement, Flighty! Just goes to show what a varied and interesting occupation gardening is, always something new to look forward to. Like Chloris, I never seem to catch up so will be carrying on throughout the winter, weather permitting, and maybe just taking things slightly more slowly! Well done, I look forward to reading many more of your posts. Caro x

  19. menhir1 says:

    What a library of posts you have created! Maybe, while you are sofa pottering you will have time to peruse a few of your many years of posts.

    What you are doing as last elements of tidying,chimes with some of the activities I have been up to. My Cosmos and Calendula are giving me a show, like yours are giving you. The Robin must feel okay near you. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes indeed. I may well do that.
      It’s the time of year for tidying the garden or plot. Good to see you’ve still got flowers to enjoy. Robins generally do I’m glad to say. xx

  20. Wow! 1000 posts? That’s a huge accomplishment. You’re a very talented gardener, too. I spend so much time working, I never get to actually make my yard look better.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • Flighty says:

      Stephanie hello, and thanks. I’m very much a fun gardener who gets lucky now and again, any talent I have is down to my mum who was a passionate gardener. Thankfully I’m now retired so, weather permitting, I spend most mornings on the plot. xx

  21. snowbird says:

    Goodness me! 1000th post? Well Mr F, congratulations to you, here’s to many, many more!
    You certainly get a good run from those marigolds and you just can’t beat hanging out with a robin, marvellous companions they are.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, I’m sure I’ll be doing lots more.
      I certainly do, and it’s little wonder that robins are called the the gardener’s friend. xx

  22. Glo says:

    Congratulations Flighty! Glad to know that Plot 124 is winterized! Here’s an award!

  23. nikkipolani says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on your 1000th! And just in time for a certain special day coming around the corner. Glo’s image is perfect. Perhaps you’ll come out and sort out my garden!

  24. Shamini says:

    Ooh, congratulations! It’s lovely that you are still plotting and blogging, and enjoying both.

  25. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Congratulations, Flighty. I always enjoy reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

