Some autumn surprises

There were some autumn surprises to be seen last week such as the dogwood (cornus sibericia?) leaves turning red but it’s also flowering again!

Dogwood flower & leaves   Dogwood flower

Red Duke of York potato foliage

 

 

I must have missed digging up one of the first early Red Duke of York potatoes as this foliage has appeared. I’ll leave it be but it’s almost sure to be killed off by the first frosts.

 

 

 

Gladioli 'White Goddess' flower spike

 

 

Another surprise is this gladioli White Goddess flower spike, which would be great to see flower.

As you can see the pink cosmos are still doing well.

 

 

 

Parasol fungi

 

This delicate looking Pleated Inkcap toadstool was just a couple of inches high.

 

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Some autumn surprises

  1. Caro says:

    Both plants and animals are being confused by this on/off warm/cold weather – a few weeks ago there was a lamb born to one of the sheep at the local City Farm! I’m trying to make the most of any warm weather that we have now by clearing up the garden but I’m loathe to take down too much while there’s still a bit of colour. Cosmos are such a worthwhile flower, aren’t they? I’m definitely growing more of these next year! Enjoy your Sunday, Flighty – looks like it will be a good one! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m not surprised as the weather has become more unpredictable and the seasons much less clear cut. I don’t blame you and I’m doing the same.
      Cosmos are lovely flowers, and like you will be growing lots more next year. Thanks, I did and it it was. xx

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Lots of plants are reluctant to pack it in for the year. They probably don’t think we ever had any Summer! Today I’m using more indoor-ripened tomatoes and chillis to make some spicy sauce a bit like Harissa. That’ll add a bit of warmth to the cold dark months ahead!

  3. CJ says:

    The toadstool is gorgeous. You’ve reminded me that I meant to take a photo of one down on my plot on Friday, but I forgot. Do you think pink cosmos do better than white ones? I have a pink one in the garden that is flowering and flowering. There are quite often a few autumn surprises I find. I have an apple blossom and some strawberry flowers at the moment! Have a good Sunday Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s quite amazing. I’ve certainly seen more pictures of pink than white ones this year, but I think it’s just that there are more varieties. It’s really surprising what surprises we’ve all seen this year. Thanks, I did. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Sounds like there will be frost this coming week; it will create an adjustment for all eco systems and ours. The fiery colourations are lovely. Xxx

  5. Liz says:

    What a lovely assortment of autumn surprises. I have to admit that I went to Google about your dogwood. It is called red twig dogwood in the US. Does yours have those lovely red stalks all winter long? (I’d be tempted to get one just for that and the flower would be a bonus.)

    • Flighty says:

      Liz and all most welcome. Yes the dogwood has red stems in winter, white flowers in spring which become green/black berries and the leaves turn from green to red giving all year interest. xx

  6. Jo says:

    Could you cover the potato foliage to give it some protection? Who knows, you could end up with some home grown spuds on your Christmas dinner plate. The cosmos are still looking lovely, they do seem to go on and on.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I noticed a couple more today, and yes I may well do that. That would be good. The cosmos are brilliant, and a couple of small white flowers have now appeared. xx

  7. Charlotte says:

    That toadstall is beautiful. I hope that gladioli flowers too, and your cosmos are spectacular! How lovely to see in autumn. Hope you had a good weekend

  8. snowbird says:

    Apart from your toadstool I have exactly the same surprises, my dogwood is flowering as is a gladioli, and spuds I’ve missed are growing again. And now SNOW is forecast in two weeks….I imagine the animals are confused as well!xxx

  9. elaine says:

    My Cosmos have grown huge this year – must be at least 10ft. high – but still going strong!

  10. Joanne says:

    My cosmos has had a late rally, it’s the best it’s been this year. The toadstool is very pretty. I hope you have a good week x .

  11. Love the toadstool… It is all very confusing for the plants at the moment, isn’t it! I have foxgloves and geums flowering, and yesterday spotted a hellebore bloom. Very bizarre.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    I’m about 2/3 of the way through the audiobook The Martian so it’s what I immediately thought of on seeing your late season potatoes. Alas, it probably won’t make it, but those leaves sure are pretty. And a lovely photo of that toadstool!

Leave a Reply

