Early October

Borlotti bean podsAs the weather is forecast to be dull and wet from tomorrow through mid-week I decided to do what I posted about last Thursday regarding the Barlotto beans.   I’ve now got around eighty pods at home ranging in colour from red through to light brown.  As they’re nice and dry they shouldn’t go musty as they sometimes do.

Michaelmas daisiesThis morning I picked the last of the sweet corn.  I was surprised that I got any cobs as these were the third lot I sowed. They were small and could have done with more time and sunshine to ripen properly. I’ll leave the stems in the ground and pull them up after I’ve emptied the compost heap at the end of February or early March.  I’ll flatten then lay them criss-cross on the ground  in the bottom of the compost bin and start the new heap over the top.

The blue asters (Michaelmas daisies) are now in full flower and buzzing with bees.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Early October

  1. menhir1 says:

    We’re fuzzing with midgies, they get into any orifice that is exposed! Your beans look very interesting; love the colour variations. Sweet corn, my! I had no idea it was warm enough to grow them where you are. How lovely. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I sympathise and glad we don’t get them here. These beans are colourful. There are now varieties of sweet corn that generally do well in much of the UK given a good summer. xx

  2. Liz says:

    What do you do with the Barlotto beans? Shell them and slow cook? The color variation is unusual, isn’t it? Lucky, to have sweet corn to harvest, and we’re already in October. Enjoy!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz the beans are used in casseroles, risottos and stews. These are one of the more colourful varieties. I am but these are about a month later than I’m usually enjoying them. Thanks, I will. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I was driving along the Surrey & Kent part of the M25 today, and the verges are full of huge patches of Michaelmas Daisies. They look quite spectacular.

  4. Jo says:

    I haven’t grown corn this year, I always regret it when I see the ones everyone else has grown. Your asters look fabulous.

  5. The insects (and I) love the asters!

  6. Your asters are really gorgeous, I always appreciate the dose of lavender-purple that they bring to the garden this time of year.

  7. CJ says:

    Michaelmas Daisies are fantastic for bees aren’t they. I like the tip of using the sweetcorn to line the bottom of the compost heap, that’s a great idea, as they’re quite fibrous. I pulled up some very weak little plants this morning that didn’t really amount to anything. I don’t have much luck at all with sweetcorn. Wishing you a good week, rain or no rain. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they sure are. Just make sure that you crush them first. It’s a shame that you don’t have much luck with sweet corn. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. Chloris says:

    So that’ s what you do with your sweet corn stems. I will try that. I love Borlotti beans but I have never got many beans from lots of plants. They are so pretty as well as tasting nice.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it’s worth doing, and provided they’re crushed first they do compost down. That’s a pity, I’ll have to do a count when I shell mine to see how many I get. They certainly are. xx

  9. Julie says:

    Those Michaelmas Daisies are stunning.. such a pretty colour and great bee magnets :o) xx

  10. elaine says:

    I planted some Michaelmas Daisies last year but they have disappeared – nice to see yours doing well.

  11. What a great idea about the sweetcorn stems Flighty, I’ll have to try that, I usually use twiggy shreddings but that should work even better. My sweetcorn is struggling to ripen, I sowed them too late and they took a long time to germinate. Ah well, there’s always next year! That’s the beauty of gardening.

  12. snowbird says:

    Glad you finally got your sweetcorn, it has been a strange year! Those beans and asters look good, I love the colours of both. How interesting to hear how you use the sweetcorn stems…xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    What a fun variety of beans. I can’t quite imagine 80 of these hanging around drying out! Nice shot of the daisies — cheery colors since you’re in for a few grey days.

Leave a Reply

