It’s been ideal…

plotting weather this week so I’ve been making the most of it.  The three vegetable growing areas are now clear except for the Borlotto beans which I still have to pick, then pull up and add to the compost heap all the climbing bean plants, put away the canes and fork over the area.

Candytuft (Iberis)

Because some of the flowers are still busy blooming I’m having to be rather more careful working through the patch dead-heading and weeding.

On Tuesday I noticed this unfamiliar flower which on checking I find is a Candytuft (Iberis umbellata) which I certainly didn’t plant or sow.  I’m looking for a small hardy annual to sow and grow in the long planter next year once the crocus have finished and may well try Candytuft ‘Fairy’ Mixed Colours which is a dwarf variety in shades of lilac, purple, rose and white.

A small cosmos

Yesterday I was surprised to find this tiny cosmos. The plant is only few inches tall and my finger tip shows just how small the flower is.

Yellow cosmos & various nasturtiums

This mound of yellow cosmos and various coloured nasturtiums has been looking impressive for weeks now.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to It’s been ideal…

  1. Julie says:

    We’ve been having glorious weather here too! I like candytuft and that fairy mix looks so pretty. Crikey that is a tiny cosmos but perfectly formed :o) Enjoy the rest of the week :o) xx

  2. CJ says:

    I’m not surprised things are still flowering so well, the weather’s been glorious hasn’t it. I desperately need to visit my plot though and see what’s happening down there. CJ xx

  3. Liz says:

    Those pretty tiny flowers! It’s been years since I saw candytuft. Are the nasturtiums trained on anything or are they the bush variety? I like the mound effect.
    While you are having glorious sunshine, we have at last come out of moderate drought and there have been downpours!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz It’s seems to be another flower that’s been overlooked in recent years. The nasturtiums have just been left to do their own thing. Me too.
      It’s been a really good week here, and I know that you’ve needed rain there. xx

  4. Jo says:

    What a tiny cosmos. I love how things self seed, like your candytuft, I’ve actually had some sunflowers grow in the area under the bird feeding station this year, the seed obviously having been dropped from the feeders. They’ve grown much better than any I planted myself.

  5. menhir1 says:

    Will your compost naturally heat up enough to deal with the grasses and weeds? Some of my Cosmos have started flowering, others are still budding and it’s 1st October………

    You seem to have had a pretty good flowering season, once it all got going. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir a layer of dry grass on the compost heap acts as a duvet and it does get surprising hot underneath. You must be pleased that they have, and I hope they continue to flower for a while yet.
      Yes, it’s been better than I thought it would be back in the summer. xx

  6. karengimson says:

    I like the idea of that candytuft. Mum used to grow it, and it lasts for ages in a vase. Haven’t we had glorious weather. Hope it lasts for a few more weeks yet as there’s such a lot to do on the veg patch

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I’m sure that my mum would have grown it as well. We sure have. That would be good but sadly it looks like rainy days here early next week. xx

  7. Doris Potter says:

    I love the name “Candytuft”. Glad you are having good weather with lovely surprises. 🙂

  8. Jan says:

    Now that is a tiny Cosmos!

    I’ve always been a lover of candytuft … I think many of us are.

    All the best Jan

  9. Gardening has been truly wonderful this year; I also have many unplanned plants in my garden this year as well.

    • Flighty says:

      Charlie that must be pleasing, and it’s always good to find such plants. It’s been better here than it looked like being back in the summer. Cheers.

  10. Oh, what an exquisite little cosmos! The nasturtium combination is striking, what a good idea. And, yes, what a glorious gift the fine weather has been for enjoying the garden.

    • Flighty says:

      Kate I can’t get over just how small it is. Thanks, I have to say that it’s an unplanned combination. Indeed it has, and I’m pleased that I’ve been able to make the most of it. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    You certainly have been productive! Many of the flowers in my garden have been much smaller this season due to the extended heat wave — roses half their size, pitiful showing of small (though not as minuscule a yours!) cosmos, tinier zinnias…. As for that candytuft — it’d be a great addition to your plot.

  12. elaine says:

    It has been a glorious week – quite a bonus and lovely gardening weather.

  13. snowbird says:

    You certainly are ahead of the game! How lovely that the little candytuft crept into your garden, I’m sure your seeds will enhance your plot next year. That really is a tiny cosmos….but still, it’s flowering and we need all the flowers we can get at this time of the year.xxx

  14. Alison says:

    Been catching up reading your blog posts, your nasturtiums look so healthy. I’m hoping to get some nasturtiums from a friend. Read that it helps to keep some bugs away. Have a good week ahead Flighty! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Alison I hope you enjoyed them. Grow the nasturtiums from seed sown direct where you want them to grow. They do attract blackfly so people grow them to keep them away from bean plants. Thanks, and you too. xx

  15. Love the miniature cosmos flower! I’m still picking beans, so can’t tidy them up just yet, but there is plenty of other work I should be getting down to in the kitchen garden. You put me to shame. Glad you had a happy week of plotting.

Leave a Reply

