Sunshine and flowers…

Bee on a California poppy

are what I’ve been enjoying this morning, and the last couple of days, whilst plotting. There are still plenty of bees around as seen on this California poppy and the nasturtiums.

Bee on the nasturtiums

 

 

 

 

 

How about these creamy-yellow pot marigolds, which are definitely Flighty’s favourites.

Creamy-yellow pot marigolds

Two favouite flowers

 

or this bright orange one, contrasting nicely with a white cosmos.

 

Deep pink cosmos

 

 

 

 

A different coloured cosmos is this pinky-red one, which I have to say I’m not that keen on.

 

 

As a  reminder that it’s not summer but autumn are these large red dogwood rose hips.

Dog rose hips

The forecast for the coming week is rather cool, dry and mostly sunny which is ideal plotting weather.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunshine and flowers…

  1. The forecast is really good, isn’t it! Love all your flowers. My cosmos have been really late in deciding to bloom, but are now out and really pretty, and the butterflies are enjoying them hugely. My Califnornian poppies have just carried on flowering for months and months too, and between them and the perennial wallflowers, the borders are still buzzing away with bees enjoying the nectar. Hope you have a great week on your plot Flighty.

  2. menhir1 says:

    There’s no doubt it’s Autumn, which, is why, I think, there is an abundance of flowers, a last gasp production,after a foreshortened season. Most of my Cosmos have just begun flowering, and I see I have a couple pretty pink ones. Few are flowering together. There are buds on other leafy stalks, not much chance of them doing much now. I noticed that the rose hips are generally very fat this year wherever I have seen them. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s slightly sad knowing it’s a last gasp so to speak. Good to see that you’ve got some cosmos to enjoy as well. Shame that you’ve buds that won’t flower. These hips are noticeably big this year. xx

  3. CJ says:

    Gorgeous flowers. The weather is set fair, so hopefully there’ll be lots of plotting this week. CJ xx

  4. elaine says:

    A lovely set of flowers still hanging on in your garden. All my Cosmos have turned out to be pink this year – shame as I do like a few white ones in the mix.

  5. Jo says:

    It’s lovely to see you still have so much colour on the plot. I know what you mean about that pink cosmos, it’s a little garish. I’m still seeing plenty of bees around too I’m glad to say.

  6. Liz says:

    The growing season seems to be ending with a flourish! Lots of lovely color and those divine rose hips. Hope you have a week of excellent plotting.

  7. Julie says:

    Gorgeous flowers Flighty.. I have various shades of pink cosmos, including your shade of pink, no white this year though. I love them all.. as do the bees. Still got lots of bees about which is wonderful. xx

  8. snowbird says:

    I prefer the white cosmos too. Flighty’s favourites are beautiful, such a lovely shade. It’s been a good year for the bees. xxx

  9. Jan says:

    Hi Flighty … I so often see your comments on many of the blogs I visit that I thought I’d come across and have a look!
    Beautiful colours in your photo’s here, Autumn does provide a great display.
    Hope the rest of your week goes well – I cannot believe it will be October tomorrow!
    All the best Jan

Leave a Reply

